We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Idaho
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Coachman Inn. The motel was newly remodeled, clean, and the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit small but certainly adequate. We will be staying here again in the future when we come to visit our son.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    79
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
70
79
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We have just returned from 2 nights at Coachman Inn. The hotel is great and we have never experienced such incredible service before. The owner was at the front desk to greet us when we arrived and when we left - very friendly and helpful.

The room was a little on the small side - but spotless. It contained a small fridge and a coffee maker - supplies replaced daily. A microwave was available in the hall and where continental breakfast was served.
For breakfast there was oatmeal, 3 kinds of cold cereal, fruit juice, milk, coffee, assorted muffins and bananas and coffee was on by 6 AM

The pool was great - we spent one afternoon lazing about - nice table and umbrella and lounging chairs. Water was 86 degrees!

The location was great - several great restaurants close by on same street. There was also a grocery store - Haggen's just down the street - with one of the greatest deli dept's I have ever seen! Not more than a 2 minute drive off of Freeway.

This is an older hotel but it is being very lovingful cared for and I saw people working on and off all day both days we were there.

The only knock I can honestly give is that our TV was not the best - could not adjust the colour - but that was a minor point as it the met the need in every other way!

We will stay again - great value for the price!

  • Liked — Service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — TV quality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in late July 2008. We picked the Coachman Inn based on positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The desk person was helpful and friendly. I liked the fact that they did a visual check of the room to ensure that it was ready before giving us the key. The bed and bathroom were spotless, the towels were clean and the fridge worked. There was no microwave in our room and the only one available was in the corridor... an odd place to put one, but a better alternative to walking down to the breakfast area to use one. On short stays, we normally don't ask for housekeeping and some hotels will simply redo the beds but not replace the towels. At Coachman Inn, housekeeping did our bed, cleaned the bathroom and replaced our used towels. We came back from shopping to our room which looked like it was made up for the next guest. The only negative thing I can say is that the room door looked flimsy and the locking mechanism was really old.

We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We got very good value for what we paid.

JESEP

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We weren't sure what to expect with such a low price but we were pleasantly surprised. First off, both the gentlemen who served us when we checked in and then out were wonderful, attentive and friendly. The room was very clean. We had two beds and the room was small but comfortable. Sure, the bathroom needed some renovations, but it was very clean. The only drawback was the noise from the I-5, but we travel with a portable white noise machine (about $40-50 and worth every penny).

Breakfast was in the lobby and consisted of assorted cold cereals, a good variety of juices and milk, delicious muffins and donuts as well as some bananas and coffee. We are not coffee drinkers so I cannot attest to their coffee making skills. The breakfast area was neat and tidy.

Wi-fi internet is important to us and it worked very well, just get the code when you check in.

  • Liked — Price and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

For the price, location and wonderful staff hospitality, we got a great deal! It is not the Hilton, but nor does it claim to be. It is an awesome place for families to stay. The price was affordable and the amenities were just what we were looking for. The owner was very attentive and responsive to our needs!!

  • Liked — the kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washinton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Our soccer team stayed at this hotel while we were in Bellingham for a soccer tournament. The hotel was very clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were impressed with how much they went above and beyond what most hotels would do to make sure we were comfortable and our needs were met. The cost was very reasonable and was far less than we've spent at other hotels where the level of service was not comparable. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a clean, inexpensive and friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — The excellent customer service
  • Disliked — The beds could have been a little more comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at the coachman for a soccer tournament that we were in town for. the staff was great and even had the special request we made ready for breakfast

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham
Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.