We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised how well kept and clean the room was, great value with free breakfast! Very quiet and comfortable beds! The pool was a great way to cool down. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. We will back again thank you coachman!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    98
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
82
96
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We will be forever grateful to the owner of the Coachman Inn for so graciously going out of his way to help us find several lost items in August 2014. Based on Trip Advisor recommendations, we booked a double room at the Coachman Inn during WWU's Summerstart. Btw ~ comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and great breakfast!

Before heading home, we had to return twice for stuff left behind. The first item (lid to CPAP breathing machine) was not in Lost & Found, so we asked if we could check the trash. The owner stunned us by putting on gloves himself, climbing into the hotel's dumpster, breaking open at least 8 or 10 trash bags before we spotted the lid. After we sheepishly returned a second time for more lost items (boots, cell charger), the owner quickly and graciously located them for us in Lost and Found.

THANK YOU, Coachman Inn! Loyal guests for life here!!!

Room Tip: Middle building is quieter. We requested and received a ground floor room 'cuz my husband has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Just stayed at this hotel and it was great. It is a family run business which prides itself in fair rates, while every other hotel jacked up their prices for labour day long weekend this hotel didn't. I did not book ahead so wasn't sure I would get a room. I got the last room for a great rate. My room was spotlessly clean in fact the whole hotel and premises are all clean and well maintained. Room had queen bed but they also have king beds, flat screen TV, coffee maker, blow dryer in bathroom. Rooms have been updated. There is also a pool and free breakfast. I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you're on a budget and need a nice, affordable place to stay in Bellingham, this is the place! It is a well-kept, friendly, well-run Inn on a street full of Inns that look like drug deals occur often in their rooms and bed bugs stay full-time.

Our room was like something out of a 3.5 star hotel. We were very happy with just about everything at this inn. Our bathroom drain had some rust on it and the AC was a little noisy, but considering the price we were paying per night, my GF and I got a bargain!

Highly recommended for those on a budget looking for a great deal!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I chosed this property based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. It was clean, real value for money and the room was spacious. I called the 1800 no. to make the booking though you can make reservations online but I wanted to make sure I get a room on the ground floor and away from the street. The breakfast was good enough with organic boiled eggs and the much talked about soya milk included and yes the owner was hands on operation which is why the property is in tip top shape. Overall we were extemely satisfied and would be back.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

As Tripadviser reviewers have stated it is a breath of fresh air. The owner is very nice, helpful and ever accommodating. He walked us to help park in a private although monitored parking spot when we arrived with our boat. The rooms are fresh and clean. The grounds and pool are spotless as well. Nice continental breakfast with little extras like flavoured coffee creamers. The air conditioning works great. The room is a very fair price. We rested well and felt safe.

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot in the second building and were able to see our vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were looking for a place to lay our heads on a pillow for a few hours and to take a shower in the morning without paying an arm and a leg. We read the reviews and thought we would give this place a try. At first glance the outside of this hotel is pretty old and rundown looking, however the room was a pleasant surprise! It seemed somewhat updated, very clean, equipped with everything and the bed was surprisingly very comfortable! We would not hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area and need a cheap yet safe and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.