We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another highlight of our stay in Bellingham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another highlight of our stay in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Once again, TripAdvisor came through for us. As others have noted, this is a clean, comfortable, older motel with an unobtrusive and courteous staff. We slept well here and didn't feel a lack for anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    88
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
75
89
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Clean and caring. It is an older motel, but it is kept in exceptionally good shape. There is nothing one can criticize, unless what one wants is the modern visuals that only the national chains can tell us we need. The room is not large but adequate and comfortable. Everything works very well, ice, TV, internet, good beds and bathroom amenities, the front desk (always caring and staffed by the family of the owner). Safe parking with large spaces. A very clean swimming pool just right for families with kids. The breakfast is basic, but healthy and has enough variety to be very satisfactory. You just cannot do better in this University city or in most cities elsewhere for the price and sense of value, overall comfort and security. We stay here for a few nights every three months while in town to visit our grandson and always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are fun because they give you a sense of close proximity to your car and the vari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is an older property that is very well maintained inside and out. The rooms are smallish, but very clean and well cared for. Our room had everything that we needed. The service was outstanding - friendly, courteous, attentive, helpful. Services (restaurants, gas stations, etc.) are close by. When in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Coachman Inn in May. We could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation in Bellingham. Our room had everything we needed, and it was spotlessly clean. It was also quiet, and we heard no traffic noise at all. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The Coachman Inn staff could not have been more helpful. A bonus of the location was its proximity to the Sehome Hill Arboretum. We enjoyed walking the trails there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed there six days this past week, and we had a perfect experience. The rooms include great cable and wifi, a small refrigerator and coffee maker, and they are cool and clean. The best continental breakfast I have ever had is included as well, with boiled eggs, muffins, pastries, butter, jam, toast, bagels and cream cheese, cereals, oatmeals, several kinds of juice, and skim, whole and even soy milk! There is a computer you can use for free in the lobby, and the hotel staff can help you with any questions. Situated just off I-5 and near Fairhaven, I will stay at the Coachman Inn every time I visit Bellingham.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights based on the reviews posted here. I must say that I totally agree with all the positive reviews. This inn is easily accessed from the interstate. The grounds were immaculate. The rooms are probably a little larger than average and quite comfortable. Great nice fluffy towels, etc. There was a nice continental breakfast served in a nice location. Also, I cannot say enough nice things about the owners and staff. Everyone was so friendly - very personable and ready to help with whatever you need. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Personnel are more than happy to work with you. Request a room away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent a weekend in Bellingham to attend a wedding and made reservations here. We had not been to Bellingham before so didn't have any idea about places to stay. We definitely made an excellent choice. The personnel was always friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Loved the workout room with treadmill, elliptical, and bike--just wish I had more time to try out the sauna. The continental breakfast offered plenty of choices. It is an older facility and I loved the fact that there were real keys, not keycards, as I was reminded of staying in motels when I was growing up! There are all types of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so we requested a ground level room otherwise you will need to climb a flight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.