We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bellingham ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
penticton bc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best in Bellingham ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Clean comfortable basic continental Breakfast. If you have basic needs and expectations this is a good value. This is a budget hotel and staff are friendly and curtious. If you ask they will do there best to accommodate. They will allow free parking for airport travellers.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    90
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
90
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on TA reviews planning to stay just one night while traveling with friends from Seattle to Vancover via Woodinville and it's tasting rooms.
The hotel is far from new, but everything was freshly painted and well maintained, rooms were of average size but did have a little fridge and there was a shared microwave in the hall. The bathroom was impeccable and the towels though motel size were much fluffier than most.
Wifi worked well and breakfast though called continental was really continental plus as it included boiled eggs, soy milk options and really google green tea.
We were 2 couples traveling and the first morning we decided to stay another night and keep the room as a base to visit the San Juan Islands. So we stayed 2 nights in stead of one.
Our 2 rooms were upstairs near the office end. They were quiet with no road noise. The heater cycling on and off was a bit noisy but we got around that by putting the fan to continuous the second night.
The place was really cared for, staff were helpful. Not a luxury spot, but comfortable and really good value at under $60 USD for 2 people. Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Finally, a value-for-money place to stay while blowing through town. Poor Bellingham, we never come to stay and play. We’re always on our way somewhere and just need a quiet room and comfortable bed for the night. Up until now, staying in Bellingham has always felt like a you-get-what-you-pay for experience and we’ve bowed to it. But TripAdvisor reviews lead us here in November and we were pleasantly surprised. It’s clean, comfortable and quiet. The most important things. The bathroom always matters (not too small, ideally with a bathtub, but if not then at least enough elbow room to avoid claustrophobia). Not looking for luxury, but not wanting a dive either. So, the Coachman wins.

The only serious drawback is that the room was redolent with cleaning ‘fragrances’ — almost enough to make me reconsider. Really, in this day and age, with an abundance of fragrance-free cleaning products, there’s no reason for this and I hope, next time I come, this will have resolved itself. It’s hard to breathe in a room that needs so much airing before sleep. I think there’s a responsive management in place here which means that this might be rectified at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for fragrance-free?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overnighted at the Coachman last night after travelling from Vancouver, BC to Everett,WA to see the Village Theatre's production of Les Miserable. For fans of the show this is a must see .Was outstanding-better than the Vancouver show at the Queen Elizabeth last year.
But I digress-back to the Coachman. Arrived at around19H45-check in was quick and friendly.Asked for a quiet room and was assigned a second floor room in the first building -closest to the main road. Noise was never an issue though. There are three things I typically look for in a hotel/motel room-cleanliness, quiet and cheap ( or at least good value) the Coachman delivers on all three counts. The bed was comfy ,linens and bathroom clean and plenty of cable channels ( make that four things I look for in a room) also a coffee maker, hair dryer,shampoo's etc. For the price of USD 55 a night you can't go wrong. Recommend this property.

Room Tip: Probably rooms in the second or third bldgs. will have little or no noise from the main rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

As usual we stayed here before flying out early the next day! This family run hotel is just SIMPLY the best! It is old and far from the most modern, however, if you are looking for clean, and nice this is it! This family goes the extra mile. We often leave for a flight in the middle of the night and they provide us with water and snacks the night before. They allow us to go into the refrigerator and get fruit and what we need. This is great as often there is nothing at the airport that early in the morning. We will continue to stay here and support Norrinder and his family run business!

Room Tip: As for one away from the Freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Clean, but far from elegant. A good place to stop if all you want is a place to spend the night before traveling on. The free breakfast was perfectly good, but decidedly normal; i.e., nothing very exceptional. Staff was attentive. Price was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We picked this hotel out through Trip Advisor and were really glad we found it! Everything was really clean, everyone was super nice. Hard to believe at the reasonable price we paid there was an exercise room, sauna, and a good breakfast with ORGANIC apples and soy milk! These people are great hosts. Even broght me a bottle of water while I was on the exercise bike, without me asking. Must have noticed I didn't have one, I had left it in the room and did not want to wake my partner. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.