We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Coachman is the perfect "on the way" hotel. We flew into Vancouver late and drove to Bellingham. Its a short trip and then we avoid this busy border lineup in the morning. At any rate, we didn't want to spend a ton because we were getting up the next day and heading to Seattle.

The rooms are dated yes, but clean, which is what I wanted.

The staff are terrific and I enjoyed the breakfast area.

Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    95
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
80
94
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Coachman. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable, and our room was lovely and clean. They obviously have conscientious cleaning staff who take pride in their work. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, and even took advantage of the laundry room, with large capacity washer and dryer. The room was nice and quiet, and the heating/ac unit was the quietest we've come across. We had two queen beds, dresser, fridge, desk and flat screen tv. Nice internet speed which registered about 8Mbps which allowed us to use our Magic Jack.
Definitely will be coming back here on our shopping trips from Canada.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and you can barely hear the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

A last minute booking otherwise we may have not stayed here. However, we found a clean room, a comfortable bed and a good choice of breakfast. The only downside was that the heater in the room was very loud so we turned it off during the night but stayed warm in bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a small motel near Bellingham downtown. I crashed there one night after my friend's big party. It's a good value for the buck and the room was clean. The staff was very helpful. They brought me an iron & iron board when I requested within 10 minutes. What a speedy room service! The heater was loud, so recommend to heat up the room and turn it off before going to the bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are a mature couple in Bellingham for a night. We have stayed in several budget hotels in Bellingham over the years and this is by far the best value. A very clean, well maintained budget motel with all the typical amenities. Coffee and breakfast at 6 am. Very gracious owner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just needed an overnight stay in the Bellingham area while on our way to Seattle for a Seahawks game. Convenient to Interstate 5, clean, quiet location, comfortable bed, roomy bathroom, friendly staff, free parking and did I mention inexpensive? Coachman Inn ticked all of the boxes. What a great find! A continental breakfast that included lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice, boiled eggs and lots of muffins and pastries was also included. The care and generosity warmly offered to each guest by the owner and staff is evident from the buildings and grounds and housekeeping services through to the check in and check out experiences. Definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stay here often when flying out from Bellingham. This is a great little Inn. Very clean and friendly. Mohinder is excellent trys to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Nice little breakfast served as well. My only wish is for larger beds husband is 6*4. We will return in December and are looking forward to it..

Room Tip: Ask for room away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.