We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stay here often when flying out from Bellingham. This is a great little Inn. Very clean and friendly. Mohinder is excellent trys to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Nice little breakfast served as well. My only wish is for larger beds husband is 6*4. We will return in December and are looking forward to it..

Room Tip: Ask for room away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    91
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
91
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a good stay here. The buildings fits perfectly in this green region. Rooms are a bit small but that isn´t a big deal. It´s clean and everything you need is nearby.
Breakfast is great although we had to move the staff to take care for it. The pool is small and meant to relax, not to swim.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wrote a pretty scathing but well-deserved review of this place back in 2006 - my wife and I had previously stayed here numerous times for years - but the new owners at that time had let it become essentially a dump.

HOWEVER, since Mohinder took over (not "Mohamed" as one reviewer recently referred to him - he is clearly Indian) this place has just gotten better and better. We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years and have chatted with Mohinder a couple of times - he is a very nice, easy-going guy who knows how to run his business and keeps upgrading the facilities - over time he has replaced many items in the rooms incl. the beds (quite comfortable), the tvs, the air-conditioning/heater units, the carpets, the bathroom mirrors, "etc., etc., etc". (Thank you, Yul Brynner!)

I see there are about 3 recent very negative reviews and I just don't understand it - doesn't sound at all like The Coachman the way it is now.

Mohinder and his staff are very friendly, take great pains to keep it pretty quiet (quite a few CCTV cameras, with a monitor at the front desk) and the breakfast is pretty darn ok considering.

Anyway, you get the idea: reasonably priced, comfortable, clean, quiet, very friendly owner and staff - definitely "value for money".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend, while visiting our daughter. There was a severe storm with massive amounts of rain, flooding and high winds raging outside. We were cozy inside. It was actually warmer in there than in our daughter's house! The heater is not in the best spot, my husband kept rolling over at night and smacking his leg on it - it's RIGHT next to the bed, at bed height. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bed size. They were all doubles. When you're tall and used to queen sleeping, it becomes cramped and frustrating very quickly. We heard very little of the weather event, never heard any traffic, and, for the most part, didn't hear other guests (except for the people who let their child run up and down the hallway in the morning yelling). Breakfast was nothing to write home about. We never saw anything hot like some of the reviews are claiming. But the coffee was amazing and the owner could not have been any nicer. He interacted with the guests, told fun stories from his life and managed to keep up with restocking things all the while. Overall, I would recommend to others if they can overlook the tiny annoyances and bed size!

Room Tip: Go for the middle building, inside parking lot - not much noise from that side, and farther from I-5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I lucked upon this fabulous, well-kept hotel on "Hotel Way" on my stay in Bellingham. The owner is more than delightful. He even ran out to the taxi driver to offer him some breakfast! The breakfast featured something for everyone and was available from 6-10. I'm sure the owner would have prepared food earlier just to accommodate his customers. The owner sleeps in each room throughout the month testing the beds and room comfort. He recently replaced beds and chairs in several rooms including the one in which I stayed. Every part of my stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This motel is a bit dated but it's customer service is from the past also. They go the extra mile to make sure their customers are happy. It is clean tidy and basic. The breakfast was more than adequate. It is near western Washington university, the reason for our visit. When we visit again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just spent four nights here and was very pleased and satisfied. The room was pretty basic but it was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast had everything I needed and more. Even though it was close to the freeway, my room was very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.