We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great stay - wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We weren't sure what to expect with such a low price but we were pleasantly surprised. First off, both the gentlemen who served us when we checked in and then out were wonderful, attentive and friendly. The room was very clean. We had two beds and the room was small but comfortable. Sure, the bathroom needed some renovations, but it was very clean. The only drawback was the noise from the I-5, but we travel with a portable white noise machine (about $40-50 and worth every penny).

Breakfast was in the lobby and consisted of assorted cold cereals, a good variety of juices and milk, delicious muffins and donuts as well as some bananas and coffee. We are not coffee drinkers so I cannot attest to their coffee making skills. The breakfast area was neat and tidy.

Wi-fi internet is important to us and it worked very well, just get the code when you check in.

  • Liked — Price and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    81
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
72
84
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

For the price, location and wonderful staff hospitality, we got a great deal! It is not the Hilton, but nor does it claim to be. It is an awesome place for families to stay. The price was affordable and the amenities were just what we were looking for. The owner was very attentive and responsive to our needs!!

  • Liked — the kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washinton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Our soccer team stayed at this hotel while we were in Bellingham for a soccer tournament. The hotel was very clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were impressed with how much they went above and beyond what most hotels would do to make sure we were comfortable and our needs were met. The cost was very reasonable and was far less than we've spent at other hotels where the level of service was not comparable. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a clean, inexpensive and friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — The excellent customer service
  • Disliked — The beds could have been a little more comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at the coachman for a soccer tournament that we were in town for. the staff was great and even had the special request we made ready for breakfast

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed one night at The Coachman on 7/7/07. We hoped to camp at Larabee and do some biking & hiking, but all of the camp spots were full. So we decided to book an inexpensive room in town, and bike & hike. We reserved our room successfully over the phone- this was probably unnecessary due to the fact that vacancy was about 99%. $76 total including tax. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean, the staff was nice. Mini fridge in the room, cable tv (watched a bit of Live Earth), microwave in the hall, a/c (which we didn't use), and a pool that was open- but looked a bit creepy. I doubt that we will ever stay here again, but it was good enough for what we were looking for.

  • Liked — cheap, clean, available
  • Disliked — Not fancy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

Well, this used to be a great hotel for the value, but no more.

Over the past 10 years or so we must've stayed here at least 25-30 times under previous owners, so we thought we knew what to expect. We have always asked for a room on the top floor in the first building as we have found this to be the quietest spot.

Apparently, there are new owners... new owners who haven't a clue.

After we found out our in-room heating didn't work, we were juggled around to several different rooms, each with it's own "issues". (The clerk stated that a relative of the owners' was now the manager and that getting things repaired correctly and in a timely manner was not the manager's strong suit.)

Finally we were in one that seemed ok - until we realized a few hours later that we were surrounded by young college-age men who were drinking like fish and exhibiting nearly every noisy & obnoxious behavior you can imagine.

We looked at each other and agreed:"We're outta here!".

We had booked 4 nights and this was to be our 2nd, so we checked out and got refund on the last 2 nights.

None of this would've happened with the previous owners - everything always worked perfectly, and they even went so far as to "police" the buildings and parking lots regularly to make sure guests were remaining quiet and civil: up-to-and-including kicking people out if necessary.

So, stay away from The Coachman.

  • Liked — good beds
  • Disliked — everything but the beds
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2006

I read the previous review before staying at the Coachman, and must say that I encountered none of the problems addressed by the reviewer. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Yes, there was a cancellation policy, same as any hotel/motel. The rooms were simple (bed, bath, mini-fridge), but clean and only cost about $40 a night. I experienced none of the maintenance problems the previous reviewer stated. Everything was kept in good condition and worked fine. I also had no problems getting both a wake-up call, and outside calls patched directly to my room. All-in-all I was pleased to get a quiet, clean and friendly place to stay for half the price of Holiday Inn. I’m not much for taking my time to praise or denounce the businesses I visit, but I couldn’t let the previous review be the only representation of the Coachman Inn. I stayed, I'd stay again, and I'd gladly recommend you stay as well.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.