We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wrote a pretty scathing but well-deserved review of this place back in 2006 - my wife and I had previously stayed here numerous times for years - but the new owners at that time had let it become essentially a dump.

HOWEVER, since Mohinder took over (not "Mohamed" as one reviewer recently referred to him - he is clearly Indian) this place has just gotten better and better. We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years and have chatted with Mohinder a couple of times - he is a very nice, easy-going guy who knows how to run his business and keeps upgrading the facilities - over time he has replaced many items in the rooms incl. the beds (quite comfortable), the tvs, the air-conditioning/heater units, the carpets, the bathroom mirrors, "etc., etc., etc". (Thank you, Yul Brynner!)

I see there are about 3 recent very negative reviews and I just don't understand it - doesn't sound at all like The Coachman the way it is now.

Mohinder and his staff are very friendly, take great pains to keep it pretty quiet (quite a few CCTV cameras, with a monitor at the front desk) and the breakfast is pretty darn ok considering.

Anyway, you get the idea: reasonably priced, comfortable, clean, quiet, very friendly owner and staff - definitely "value for money".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    93
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
80
92
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend, while visiting our daughter. There was a severe storm with massive amounts of rain, flooding and high winds raging outside. We were cozy inside. It was actually warmer in there than in our daughter's house! The heater is not in the best spot, my husband kept rolling over at night and smacking his leg on it - it's RIGHT next to the bed, at bed height. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bed size. They were all doubles. When you're tall and used to queen sleeping, it becomes cramped and frustrating very quickly. We heard very little of the weather event, never heard any traffic, and, for the most part, didn't hear other guests (except for the people who let their child run up and down the hallway in the morning yelling). Breakfast was nothing to write home about. We never saw anything hot like some of the reviews are claiming. But the coffee was amazing and the owner could not have been any nicer. He interacted with the guests, told fun stories from his life and managed to keep up with restocking things all the while. Overall, I would recommend to others if they can overlook the tiny annoyances and bed size!

Room Tip: Go for the middle building, inside parking lot - not much noise from that side, and farther from I-5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I lucked upon this fabulous, well-kept hotel on "Hotel Way" on my stay in Bellingham. The owner is more than delightful. He even ran out to the taxi driver to offer him some breakfast! The breakfast featured something for everyone and was available from 6-10. I'm sure the owner would have prepared food earlier just to accommodate his customers. The owner sleeps in each room throughout the month testing the beds and room comfort. He recently replaced beds and chairs in several rooms including the one in which I stayed. Every part of my stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This motel is a bit dated but it's customer service is from the past also. They go the extra mile to make sure their customers are happy. It is clean tidy and basic. The breakfast was more than adequate. It is near western Washington university, the reason for our visit. When we visit again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just spent four nights here and was very pleased and satisfied. The room was pretty basic but it was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast had everything I needed and more. Even though it was close to the freeway, my room was very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As has been noted in previous reviews, this property is a basic freeway motel. Having said that, it is one of the nicest, well run basic freeway motels I have ever visited. The grounds and facilities are well tended to and the security system is impressive. Nice touch ... as motorcycle tourists theft is a worry in neighborhoods like this. The management of this operation recognizes is so that in addition to the comprehensive and up to date video monitoring system they "reserve" motorcycle parking right outside of the unit. Our bikes were easily seen from our room and the well lit parking area gave a nice sense of security.

Overall staffing is first rate and while the accommodations reflect the very low price everything is clean and well cared for. Nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alice
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived after a drive up from Seaside ,Oregon..Read the reviews and thought it would be a nice ,reasonable place to stay.!!!!!!! NOT....The price was 70.00per night and that was after a five dollar discount because the young man at the desk put us in a smoking room, he claimed it was a little older and more run down.He was right ..!!!!! Will give them credit, the beds are clean and comfy, the carpets filthy.the lamps all rusty,your very very basic room .Two chairs and a little table. No coffee,apparently that will come with the included breakfast,we have yet to experience??The I5 is right our the window so we will no doubt sleep with the spare pillows over our head and possibly the noise from the heater will drown out the sound somewhat ,like the adage ...buyer beware .we know better and really should have checked the room and gone else where......On the other side of the road is the main street so you get the traffice regardless We do witTh every other hotel.This room is actually frightening...#316 ...

Room Tip: Rule One. Always check the room before paying. Rule two If in doubt....refer to rule one... if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.