We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for weekend shopping getaways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful for weekend shopping getaways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this little motel. Very clean, nice exercise room, Extremely helpful manager. I had made a mistake on my reservation dates and he corrected everything without problems. I was amazed and thrilled. Can you imagine showing up on the wrong date in a "chain" hotel. I loved the exercise room, It was extremely clean and had the machines working that I needed. I can't recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: All seemed good, Lots of "close to the rooms" parking. It is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
73
85
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We usually stay near Bellis Fair Mall in Bellingham, Washington. However, this time this establishment caught our curiosity online through Booking.com. It holds an impressive 8.3 out of 10 & quite reasonably priced. Well, no wonder travelers like this place. It is wonderful.!!!The rooms are very clean, spacious & very quiet. We could not hear any noise above us yet the hotel had a lot of occupancy. There is a nice fitness area & outdoor pool although be forewarned as the pool is a mere 5' deep! Fine if you are swimming & not water running as I was. The owner is a gentleman named Mohamed & a nicer man you will never find. He even helped carry our bags & big cooler. He goes out of his way to be not only friendly but helpful too. The breakfast offered is quite nice too & just about everything one could want. He even stocks the fridge with soy milk & high quality juices. We will for sure stay at the Coachman Inn again & never stay anywhere else in Bellingham. There are stores & restaurants close by & all you need. There is also a fantastic Mexican restaurant right across the street (El Gitano) that has won so many food awards. Best food & Margarita's ever!!! Huge servings & reasonable prices too.
We highly recommend the Coachman Inn. Only one suggestion & we asked Mohamed about this. There are no safety bars in the tub. He said he will make sure there are next time. Be sure & ask him as there are handicapped rooms also available that have everything a disabled or older person might need.

Room Tip: We liked everything here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the coachman inn because it could accommodate 4 people in the room. HOW ever, this place was terrible! Not only did we have NO hot water for 1 shower the pillows were old and smelled! The free breakfast consisted of sausage gray OLD bisquiks and scrambled eggs. There was not enough eggs in the crock pot to feed the 6 to 7 people there. OH did I mention the AC next to the bed at bed height!!! It kept one person cold while the Reston us were hot! I would not recomend this place, there are other newer places around the corner!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the Coachman Inn as a stop-over on our way to Seattle. It's on "motel row" which makes it easy to find, but isn't of course the most chi-chi area of a city. That said, it's really easy to find off the freeway, VERY clean - everything was so clean: the room, the bathroom, the parking lot, the little fitness room (which we did use, and all the equipment worked!) and the outdoor pool (which we did not use because it was night-time). Nice continental breakfast included in the price. Very quiet, even though it's close to busy streets, but we had no noise at all in our room (we were in the second building from the office). The towels were very good quality. And the price was definitely right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, well run, basic motel with excellent attitude from management this is your place. The room with 2 double beds for three people was a bit of a squeeze but the bathroom was clean and the room quiet. Where this motel exceeded expectations was with the continental breakfast which offered a wide array of choices not always seen elsewhere and a very solicitous manager who rushed to help my elderly husband who was having difficulty getting his cream cheese packet open and peeling his hard boiled egg. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the furnishings are dated, and there is indeed a communal microwave in the hallway, but the bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Service was great. The owner went out of his way to accommodate. I was happy to see healthier options available for breakfast. Value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, ca
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Now this owner does it right, plus he is so personable and helpful. Very comfortable bed, very clean room and wonderful continental breakfast. They had an abundant of fresh strawberries , never saw that before. This is the best value motel I have seen in a long time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.