We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I agree with previous reviews. Comfortable bed, fluffy towels, quiet room. Although the decore is dated it met our needs. Pool and excercise room available. Breakfast adaquate... no eggs the day we were there. Got a chuckle from the communal microwave in the hallway but it worked just fine. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Bellingham or Fairhaven.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office are farthest from the major highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    88
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
75
89
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our group overnighted here on July 17, 2013 and we were all thoroughly impressed with this well cared for inn. The place was spotless. The staff was super-friendly. The included continental breakfast offered many options, satisfying all of us. Would highly recommend this place as the perfect place to stay in Bellingham!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One Hundred Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

For the price it was the best in the area. The room had all the basic amenities and I had a good nights rest after a very long day of traveling. The only drawback for this hotel was that it did not seem to be in the best area of town, but it still felt secure overall because the parking lot was well lit. They say that cleanliness is next to godliness, this hotel must have been a saint for it was very clean and I could not see a speck of dirt anywhere to be found!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

we staid in this motel last year and were not disappointed once more. the owners are very nice
people going outside the box to serve you better
excellent service, clean rooms,convenient location
very good breakfast we will return for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed one night at the Coachman Inn on our way to Vancouver, B.C. We arrived late but were greeted by a friendly staff member and check-in was a breeze. The room was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. Everything from top to bottom was immaculate and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There was also free Wi-Fi that worked well and a small continental breakfast in the morning. The decor does look like something right out of grandma's house, but the price, location, cleanliness and safety made that a non-issue.

I will say the outside does look a bit scary. When we pulled in I said, "This may have been a mistake!" Don't fear - it's a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: The window of the first floor room are even with the parking lot, so we had some headlight issues. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay at this motel regularly when visiting family in Bellingham. The proprietor is welcoming, friendly and helpful and his staff equally so. The beds are great, the rooms spotless, location is easily accessed from the freeway, there is a grocery store close by, and the center of the town easily accessed. An included excellent Continental breakfast is served from 6-10am. It doesn't get any better than this. But make sure you book ahead: there are many regulars like us who turn up often and there are frequently no rooms available to those who didn't book.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you want to guarantee a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is our third stay at this hotel (we used it before our train departure for Portland, and again on our return). We also stayed here two years ago.

The Coachman is excellent. For the dollar, I doubt you'll find a better place in Bellingham. There's lots to like here. The property is impeccably taken care of ... every day you'll find someone doing some work to maintain the building and grounds (e.g. a gardener). The rooms vary in size ... we had a really large queen double before leaving on the train and a smaller double double when we returned. Both were large enough for our 4 member family including a 2 and 5 year old. The rooms are modern with great beds, flat screen TV (with lots of channels), excellent water and solid wi-fi. You will always feel safe here. You can see at the front desk that they have a number of cameras monitoring the facility and grounds. We love the pool ... it's heated to a perfect temperature and we spent hot and cooler days in there. Kids loved it. Most of the time, we had it to ourselves.

Their breakfast is pretty basic, but it's all we wanted. The room they hold it in always seemed to have seats and the attendant was very helpful.

Overall, you'll love this place. If you see a negative review on this site, respect it I suppose ... but we've been here a number of times over a stretch of time and have never been disappointed. It's a great place.

One final point to make ... once you get here, you should be able to walk pretty much anywhere for food. There are lots of choices within a few hundred feet of the facility (not just fast food either), and about a block away is a grocery store called Haggens which has a sit down deli where you can get anything you could imagine from Chinese, to a sub or salad bar. Entrees were about $7-8, although our kids had mac and cheese for $1.99.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.