We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for the Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Place for the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here before and was happy with the quality of the room and the service. Nothing changed, except for the better. The staff is as friendly and the room was as clean. The continental breakfast was a notch above the usual muffins, bagels and coffee that you'd get in a budget hotel. Boiled eggs and fruits were included. There are several family restaurants across the street and your usual fast food joints like Pizza Hut. The room had a fridge and coffemaker. There's no microwave in the room. It was instead in the hallway to be shared by the rooms in the wing of the building.

There's a very small pool which seems to be designed only for kids. Parking is plentiful but the stalls would be tight for a fullsize pickup. North Samish Way is a quiet street although it's a major thoroughfare. The hotel is located several exits on I-5 away from Bellis Fair and other shopping areas.

If you're on a budget, this is a good hotel to put on the top of your list.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    101
    24
    5
    9
See reviews for
83
100
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

They have a not very well known steam room and hot tub, along with a pool, and storage unit for large items you don't want to store in your room. Rooms are a decent size, but really really clean. Beds are comfortable too.

I have stayed here twice now, both one night ventures. The first time was last year with my golf team. They were extremely flexible and gave us the best rates around, by a long shot. When we showed up we have 12 rooms booked. I was a bit nervous I know some places make you pay for all of the rooms you have booked. The person (I think it's the manager or owner) had no problem that we only needed 8 rooms because some people dropped out last minute. He's also quite funny. Breakfast was good for a continental.

Recently I stayed here again for a cycling event with just one other person. They were extremely nice, helpful, and had they best rates around, by a long shot. They gave us storage for our bikes which was nice. AND they now had a full breakfast. They had hashbrowns, great scrambled eggs, and sausages. Mmmmm it was great before the long ride.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very friendly staff. Owner is a great guy with good suggestions for anything you need.
They stowed our bikes in a secure shed for free. This was they're suggestion when they saw our bikes on the back of the car.
Breakfast was included and very, very good. Bacon, sausage, eggs, hot cereal, cold cereal, fresh apples, bananas, strawberries and much, much more! Not the usual crappy bagged muffin and mediocre coffee that you expect for free.
If you need to stay in Bellingham, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great value for the price and we got upgraded from a queen to king at no cost and without asking. The room was reasonable, a bit tight but ok. The bathroom was a nice size. The room even included a small refrigerator with a small freezer, a plus. Several small 2 story buildings, one of which was reserved for non-smokers. The continental breakfast was much better than expected and included a selection of 4 cereals, bagels, toast, bagged pastries, juice, coffee, yogurts and fruit. There was even a computer in the lobby for guests to use. The best however was the friendly staff who were always asking us if things were ok and if we needed anything. We would definitely stay again the next time we're in Bellingham.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were very impressed with the Coachman Inn. We came into town a little early. We stopped at the hotel in order to get a map as we figured we were too early to get a room yet. The manager on duty was more than happy to see us and was ready to get us into a room. Apparently different rooms have different types of mattresses, and so we were asked if we liked "firm, medium or soft". I have never been asked this before at a hotel and the manager replied that we had never stayed with them before! He then escorted us to our room to make sure everything was done and according to his expectations. I have never had someone do this in all my years of travelling. The continental breakfast the next morning was pretty good- it had the usual breads and stuff and some fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs and I believe yogurt was in the refrig as well. We had a very nice time at the Coachman and will DEFINITELY stay there again the next time we are in town. Clean, Friendly and Top-Notch Service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I came down for two nights from BC for a little mini vacation for the weekend and we were both very happy with the service and room. We have stayed in some high end hotels before and they were not as clean as the room we stayed in here. I am a clean freak and this place past my test for clean and that is saying a lot!! No dust at all. The staff is friendly and you feel safe staying here. They offer a good continental breakfast which is free and you have a choice of tea, coffee, hot cocoa, milk, water or juice, different cereals, muffins, pastries, fruit, bagels, instant oatmeal and hard boiled eggs. It is really good and saves some cash while travelling since we don't need to buy breakfast. You can eat it in the lobby where there is a table and chairs, couch or seating bar while watching tv. The room is on the smaller side but when travelling most people don't live in their rooms so for sleeping and relaxing after a long day it is great. There is a fridge in the room and coffee maker. If you want a great deal, close to the I5 and near historic Bellingham or only 60 mins from Seattle then this is the place to stay!! We will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at the Coachman last year and were very impressed with its cleanliness as well as the congeniality of the proprietors. This visit was just as positive. The family obviously works hard to maintain a very high standard. What I can't get over is the windowsills - I've never seen sills as pristine as theirs. They were super-clean last year and they're still super-clean. The entire room was clean-as-new.

My husband and I are sold on the Coachman --excellent value, clean and comfortable accommodations and the pleasantest, nicest operators you'll ever come across. The wifi is reliable, the continental breakfast quite extensive and if you want a pool, etc., they've got that too. Don't hesitate to book this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.