We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish this is where I live!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechuan Chef

Szechuan Chef
15015 Main St # 107, Bellevue, WA 98007-5229
425-746-9008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 414 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Castlegar, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I wish this is where I live!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is one KILLER Szechuan restaurant..period...yes the decor is cheesy..so what? If you want mediocre food with fancy atmosphere, go somewhere else..no shortage in Seattle.

Yes service can be slow...Here..I will happily wait and watch the people scarfing food like crazy.
Every time I'm in the Sea-Tac area, I make a beeline for here..This place is very busy, and full of chinese people eating...battling the traffic and going out of your way is well worth it..

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good food. Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The menu is interesting., The food is well prepared. You can order it mild or hot. The atmosphere is pleasant, a cut above the usual Asian restaurant. Service has always been good, and pleasant - with a smile.
We eat lunch here regularly. Even the complimentary tea is deelicious.
It is a little hard to find (projected until November 2011) because Kelsey Creek Shopping Center is being remodeled) but it is worth your while to make the effort.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Place in Bellevue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We went there for dinner tonight. Our party of 4 split the following 5 dishes:

- Chicken Chow Mein w/Hand Shaved Noodles
- Moo Shu Beef w/4 Pancakes
- Honey Walnut Crispy Chicken
- Garlic String Bean
- Fried Rice with Egg

The Chicken Chow Mein w/Hand Shaved Noodles was served first, literally 90 seconds after we gave our order. If that was all they had served us for dinner, we would've walked away very impressed. This dish was excellent.

The Moo Shu Beef w/4 Pancakes came with a fantastic hoisin sauce that really brought out the flavor of the dish.

The Honey Walnut Crispy Chicken was only slightly above average, but still good.

The Garlic String Bean dish was STELLAR. It's garlic sauce was so deliciously garlicky, without being harsh that I begged our waiter for the recipe.

Finally, the Fried Rice with Egg was pretty standard.

This is as good a Chinese place as I've ever been to, and I definitely plan on going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We tried this place, food is ok, service is bad.

Pro:
Good portion for price
Con:
Food is average
Service is bad, you have to wave at them to get waiter attention
Silverware/plates cheap material

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“definitely worth trying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I ordered takeout since I was tight on time and I do not regret eating here. The Szechuan chicken was great. In fact, there was more than I could eat by myself. The restaurant was clean and spaceous from my perspective. The staff was friendly and helpful and curious about how I found discovered them.

I wouold eat here again and take my family next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chef also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechuan Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.