We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Seafood - even if you don't care for seafood much.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar

Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar
205 108th Avenue Northeast, Bellevue, WA 98004
425-456-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 462 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Avenue
Description: Seastar is brought to you by renowned chef John Howie, formerly of Seattle?s Palisade Restaurant. Seastar provides guests with an amazing array of freshly prepared seafood, great steaks, poultry, pastas and raw bar items. Enjoy the comfort of the luxurious Seastar dining room or the upbeat Raw Bar. Either way, Bellevue's Seastar talented staff will help to make you feel right at home, and the food will keep you coming back for more.
Redlands, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT Seafood - even if you don't care for seafood much.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Typically I am a steak person but the crab cakes are soooo awesome. I love the dressing they put on the side salad that comes with it as well. Also, the bisque is so good we took more home with us.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    87
    27
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never had a better salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were a large party of 12 people all ordering different meals from the menu. The service was fast enjoyable an punctual. As appetizers we had oysters in two different qualities and they were really good – so good we had to order more. I had the smoked king salmon and I have never tasted such a rich smoked flavor anywhere else – it was delicious. The dessert menu was ok but not near the quality of the main course. I also found that the wine list proposed that night was a bit thin and the waiters not sufficiently skilled in advising. All in all a very good experience at a decent price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I do not understand why this restaurant gets such great views. I was not impressed. It is not terrible, but the food is overpriced and average (at best.)

It is located in an office building, and the restrooms are in the office building - not the restaurant. You have to walk through the entire restaurant and out a back door which puts you in the office building, then you walk to the restroom. Just odd.

I had lobster bisque and parmesan encrusted tilapia. The bisque was good, not great. The fish was very salty and otherwise flavorless. My companion had the applewood grilled salmon, which was also fairly bland. There was just nothing impressive.

I never pass up dessert, but had no desire to prolong the experience and passed.

Given the high cost and average food, I would not recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“High Price For Avarage Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always went to Seastar to celebrate special occasions, but we continue to be disappointed from the food time and time again.The reason we keep going is the hope that next time will be better, and we also like the service and ambiance.
Here what we had: Organic Spring Greens with Tropical fruits - too sweet to my liking, didn't like the candid macadamia nuts.
Hot N Sour Thai Shrimp Soup - good, but it's time for something NEW!
Roasted Alaskan Halibut Putansca - Fish over cooked and dry topped with olive tapenade swims in a pool of red sauce was way too salty.
No desserts.
Good attentive service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best king salmon ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

They fit us in on a Sunday night, very graciously, because we had no reservations. We had the best king salmon ever; it was SO tender and flavorful. The ambiance is great, even it is a bit pricey - $100 for 2 people, including a glass of wine each. Highly recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seastar Restaurant & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.