We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumplings on dumplings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
700 Bellevue Way NE, (between 6th St & 8th St), Bellevue, WA 98004
(425) 698-1095
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 461 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dumplings on dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place for all kinds of dumplings. Known for their xiaolongbao, everything I have tried there has been delicious. House chicken soup, wonton's in spicy sauce, fried pot stickers are some of the other highlights. Place gets packed so come early.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    97
    38
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Very delicious food here. Everything is carefully crafted and the taste stay the same at all times. Portion is a bit too authentic but you will like it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and fast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So if you are planning on coming here, plan for a wait because this place is always packed. One nice thing though is they will send you a text message when your time is coming up so you can wander around while you wait, and they don't take reservations so more often than not you will have to put up with a 20+ minute wait. Once you sit down however the food comes very fast, and is delicious, I usually go with the hot and sour soup, juicy pork dumplings, and sweet and spicy shrimp and pork wontons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Bellevue or Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great food, awesome staff...definitely worth the wait! If you are staying at the Westin or Hyatt check with the concierge before waiting in the long lines.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I've been here twice now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've been here twice now... once for dinner (an 1hr wait), once for lunch (a 1/2 hour wait). The food is very good. I will definitely eat here again. The service at dinner (Sunday Night) was very good. There was a problem in that we ordered two orders of the steamed pork dumplings and received one right away and the second didn't come until we were done with everything and had to ask about the it.

The service at lunch (a Saturday Night) was border line poor. The waiter seemed in over his head We ordered a soup and some dumplings and some vegi dishes. Usually the soup comes either first up or just after thel dumplings... usually and I'm OK if they don't do it that way. But I inquired about the soup three times. Finally we were done and past ready for the check so we just cancelled the soup. Oddly the waiter said he would have to get the managers approval....??? really???

We also over heard there was some reason for the waiter to apologize to each table near us for some problem or another. Probably not the waiter's fault. It seems as if their are two different kitchens working very independently of each other.

So its good, I look forward to going back and worth the wait for dinner of an hour, but I was not blown away. And you have to be in the mood for a crowed, busy and bustling place.

P.S. They do have a very good bar... I ordered an "old fashioned" not a common drink order these days and I think it was the best I've had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.