We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Pretty Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Howie Steak Restaurant

John Howie Steak Restaurant
11111 Northeast 8th Street, Suite 125, Bellevue, WA 98004
425-440-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
John Howie Steak Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 450 restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 112 th Ave NE
Transit: Bellevue transit center.
Description: John Howie Steak Restaurant is downtown Bellevue, WA newest steakhouse and fine dining, bar and lounge and private dining option available. We offer a high end but cost effective $12 solution to business dining at lunch and an upscale grill option at night. Our food is top notch, sourcing as the best restaurants do: locally. A great bar and piano lounge as well. Happy hour daily.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Service, Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service at John Howie was amazing, I only wish the restaurant had a better view. Not much of a view from a third story window overlooking the freeway. The steak was definitely pretty good, but it is kind of annoying how they nickel-and-dime you for every little thing such as for sides or even sauce on your steak, especially at a nice restaurant like this. Everything really is a la carte, my little steak looked pretty funny sitting on a plate completely alone. My filet mignon was a tad on the drier side, I have definitely had better steaks at places like The Met. It's still probably one of the better steaks on the Eastside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    86
    34
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for date nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love to make Saturday night date nights here. I love the high-quality perfectly-cooked NY Strip and my wife loves the seafood which is as perfect as SeaStar. Great service and atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wine List Way Over Priced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped for cocktails with friends. I understand that the wine list is a profit center for restaurants but this is simply ridiculous. $130 for a bottle of Veuve Yellow Label Non-Vintage....really....when the retail price is $38 at Costco.....and they are paying much less than that. This should be priced at $80-$90. We enjoy good food and good wine and are happy to spend for the experience....just don't gouge me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ira Munch is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ellen and I are regulars at John Howie and the food and dining experience is always a something that we look forward to. Ira Munch, the dining room manager always makes sure that we are having a great time. We came in on Saturday night with a party of 9, and the service and the food couldn't have been better. Between the mous bouche, the three complimentary orders of crab cakes, or the fboulous desserts............it's all good.

Ira..........thanks and we'll see you soon, Howard

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great steaks, friendly and attentive staff. Good wine list which also has a decent selection of reasonably priced wines. I was a little surprised by the extremely casual dress of some patrons for an upscale restaurant but that seems to be more common today

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Howie Steak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John Howie Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Howie Steak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.