We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good family park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twanoh State Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Twanoh State Park
HWY 106, 8 Miles West of Belfair, Belfair, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Belfair
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state park along the Hood Canal offers plenty of water activities, including fishing, boating and kayaking.
Belfair, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very good family park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We visit at least once a summer. Plenty of beach and shade. Sometimes the oyster shells and seaweed can hamper the beach but we're used to it. Recommend for the family outing. Discover Pass required.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great for the family....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Nice spot , on the water with easy access for boaters and swimmers. Wind surfers can be seen zipping by on those breasy days. The camp sites close to the inlet dont have much privacy but a great view and are windy. The camps close to the highway are noisy but alot more private and not windy. So choose your side carefully depending on the weather. Very clean bathrooms and hot showers. Belfair is about 5 miles away and offers lots of restarants and grocery stores, Safeway, Albertsons,ect. Watch out for your dogs paws their are lots of broken sharp shells on the beach. For some great hikes go up into Tahyula state lands , watch out its a place full of trails some loops up to 45 miles , so take a map.And watch out for off road vehicles and horses..Lots of dust in the summer and some nice deep water in the winter...and always lots of rocks and roots.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great park - super busy on nice weekend days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

A great park, lots of shade, lots of things for the kids to do. I was surprised to find they had switched to the reservation system and of course it's book for all weekends. Very nice and helpful rangers and the best camp host that I've seen in any park. The bathrooms were very clean when they finished cleaning them but by the end of a week it was hard to enter them without gagging from the smell - once a week is not enough in the summer!

As for other reviewers:

Oysters are a big attraction at Twanoh. If you don't want your kids walking on oyster shells - send them to the swimming area - Its a nice sandy beach there and one of the few places in Washington warm enough to swim in saltwater.

All Washington parks require a Discover Pass. Currently $33.00 per year or $11.00 per day. This income makes the parks available to all of us. Twanoh was actually closed for awhile (a year or two?) due to state budget issues before the 'discover pass program' - you gotta pay to play. That being said, during our 6 day stay I saw several occasions where the staff was simply warning people who failed to read the adequate signage and I did not see any actual ticketing although I'm sure it does happen. The rangers and staff are not hiding in the bushes waiting to ticket you.

Noisy ORV park? I don't know where they were but it could not have been Twanoh. You will hear some traffic noise as 106 (2 lane, 35MPH) does run between the beach and the campgrounds.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Be careful walking on the beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My best advice for this park or really any beach on the hood canal is walk carefully. We visited this park a few times as it has a nice picnic area and a beach. But my gosh, it can be dangerous for little ones to walk around. The park is chock full of razor sharp broken oyster shells and barnacles. So take great care if you have little ones horsing around as they can easily trip on the rocky beach and cut up there hands, legs, etc on the sharp shells. Especially during the oyster shucking season.

Besides the warning, it really is a nice place to stop for a picnic. It has a little campground and a short little trail to hike. There are nice views of the Olympics and of the canal and the water is warm. The main problem with the place is it has limited parking and will be way overcrowded during a hot summer day. Its possible to not find parking and they do have cops waiting to write tickets.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The beach is wonderful here. You can't beat the view of the Olympics.The water is warm in the summer and nice to swim in. The park itself needs some work (fences etc.) and the campground is small and dark. The hiking trails are short but nice. I recommend going during the week on a nice day as the beach is very crowded on a sunny weekend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twanoh State Park also viewed

 

Been to Twanoh State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twanoh State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.