We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Streamliner Diner

Streamliner Diner
397 Winslow Way E, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110-2423
206-842-8595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Orcutt, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by the concierge at our hotel, and thought that the location might be such that it was a so-so tourist type restaurant. Wrong! This was the best food we had in Seattle. We started with the crab tater tote appetizers, and though you don't get many, they disappeared really fast - very well done. We washed them down with a couple of local Lagers, and for the main course I had the cioppino and my wife had the black cod. My cioppino consisted of fresh clams and a spicy buttery broth. The black cod (though pricey ) was some of the best fish I have ever tasted; velvety texture, fresh, buttery, tender, seasoned to perfection. The wait staff was very friendly, service was great, and the overall price is what you would expect for a good meal in downtown Seattle. From what I understand, the owners are originally from New Orleans, and there was a little New Orleans flavor spread throughout the menu. Don't let the location fool you, this is a top notch restaurant that I would return to in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my breakfast at Streamliner Diner. They had my favorite hot cereal and great coffee. The wait staff were very welcoming and provided excellent service.
Well-worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Not your typical greasy spoon diner. Good selection of healthy choices. The spinach salad is awesome. All day breakfast too. A very nice selection of wines. Definitely a good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Can't say enough good stuff about this place - we go there every time we are on the island. Great/fun staff (although - one of the cooks is rightfully known as "grumpy"), great service, great food - fun diner ambiance. We've eaten there for breakfast 20+ times and about the same for lunch. Great last stop before you get to the ferry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“breakfast - and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

a long-time breakfast place (which is worth it), has become one of the best places for dinner on Bainbridge. Not pretentious, but really good pasta and italian-ish food. interesting (though not large) wine selections.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streamliner Diner also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Streamliner Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Streamliner Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.