We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting with superior food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Marche

Restaurant Marche
150 Madrone Lane, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
206.842.1633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Olympic Peninsula
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting with superior food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in Bainbridge for business and had heard from my son about Marche. He was right. Wonderful. It is cozy and comfortable but elegant. They welcome you as you come in. I chose to sit where I could watch the kitchen at work. I had the market salad which was very good if a little small in size for $9. The mussels were incredible. They were served with fries. Aioli sauce comes with them and homemade catsup too. Both were delicious. I will be back with my husband. So good to have this on the island.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent. We will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Absolutely memorable, from the appetizers which were compliments of the chef, to the desserts which we usually do not order. Best trout ever. Salmon with honey crisp apples and kale, superb. And amazingly knowledgeable and personable waitstaff. Not sure why earlier reviews knocked the waitstaff, perhaps the problems have been resolved because we were very impressed, thought they were all a cut above. We will make a point of getting on the ferry to visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cozy, great chef, good wine prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Six of us met to try Marche for the first time. Reviews had us concerned about the server staff, but from meals at Canlis we expected good food. It turned out that the staff was warm and welcoming. We had duck, trout, and lamb entries together with sides of vegies and mushroom. Also fries and onion soup.

Everything was nicely cooked/grilled with nice sauces. The trout was especially good, and the onion soup was outstanding. A mushroom side was fine, but not special.

The wine selection had selections that would compliment any of the dishes, and the prices were very attractive so our table ordered 3 different bottles of wine.

Allow enough time to enjoy a lingering meal here. Worth the trip over to Bainbridge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tremeous food but quility is inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have have several great meals there but have had a few meals or portions of meals which are just not right. Like a great piece if meat seasoned well and cooked to perfection with a lump of overcooked broccoli on the side...really. So you will in all likelihood have a great dining experience but...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food beautifully presented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been to Marche for three lunches and a dinner and been dazzled each time by the food. I'm Creative use of local, seasonal foods, fabulous flavors and beautiful presentation. Bravo!
Lovely setting as well but wait staff could be a little more attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marche also viewed

Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Restaurant Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Marche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.