We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing MNO (mom's night out)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitchcock

Hitchcock
133 Winslow Way E, Bainbridge Island, WA 98122
1 206.201.3789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
“Amazing MNO (mom's night out)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Truly a MNO (mom's night out) treat!! We had A BLAST on our adventure to Bainbridge Island! Everything: the oysters, on the half shell, the beef marrow bone, the sprouted broccoli, bagna cauda and the traditional St. Paddy's Day corned beef and cabbage just to name a few!! Thank you for everything, you and your staff are AMAZING!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    32
    23
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Deli-Perfect lunch and decadent dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Right next door to Hitchcock is their Delicatessen Charcuterie. A small group of us stopped in for lunch on a weekday. It's a small deli and we were lucky to score the counter seats in front of the window. There is some outdoor seating for warmer days. I had the split pea soup and BLT with egg salad. Both were delicious. While not the cheapest lunch ever, compared to some other menus we looked at walking around, items were less expensive at the deli. And the quality was superb and fresh. Everyone in my group was happy with their lunch choices.
My friend and I could not stop thinking about the fudge displayed for dessert and hiked back from the ferry line later that day just to get some before we left the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Profoundly disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I had been looking forward to Hitchcock but were profoundly disappointed. Both the lonza meat and the carrot salad openers were very good, however, things went downhill from there. The pork chop was not uniformly cooked to the point of being nearly raw in places while being excessively salty even for a palate that enjoys salt. The fettuccine was made with an excellent pasta that was ruined by a sauce that seemed to contain nothing but vinegar. We would have returned the dishes to the kitchen except for the fact that we wished to catch a ferry back to Seattle. We won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

To tell you the truth, the name didn't attract us. We thought it would be a movie theme park or something. But we read up on reviews and found them very favourable, so, as it was nearby, we took a chance and were not disappointed. It is an attractive room with mostly bench seating and not too large. You can see the kitchen at the far end. We had seared albacore tuna and halibut and they were cooked to perfection. Very nicey displayed on the plate and delicious to eat. Don't let the name put you off. It is on the main drag in Winslow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bruciato, Hitchcock's Monday night pop-up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been back twice to Hitchcock's Monday night pop-up, Bruciato, since my review of its initial evening back in January. The Neopolitan pies just keep getting better, with new & improved offerings rarely found at other pizza places. But the real surprise is that the service at Hitchcock, which I criticized for being "lackadaisical," has been upgraded greatly. New wait people have been hired to replace old-timers and these newcomers seem devoted to providing attentive and helpful service, even amidst the crowds now showing up on Monday evenings for pizza and other Italian favorites. Chef Brendan & staff deserve praise for this dramatic turn-around!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitchcock also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Hitchcock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitchcock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.