We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful B&B we've ever had the pleasure of staying at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 W Main St., Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE 10%
Ranked #1 of 5 Wytheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Most wonderful B&B we've ever had the pleasure of staying at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stay here at least twice a year. The food is amazing and Patti and Bernie are simply the BEST of the BEST!! They are so gracious and the hospitality is unbeatable. Would give them 10 stars, but 5 is the limit!

S and B Freeman
Winston-Salem, NC

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
161
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been to the Trinkle Mansion twice and have loved it both times. The mansion is crazy beautiful and the story of how it was brought back to life is amazing. Patti and Bernie love their home and take excellent care of it (it is spotless and great care has been given to every inch!). They are also wonderful and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are great too! We will be back again!

Room Tip: The two rooms we have been in are both comfy and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You know a place is good when there are almost 200+ five Star reviews and one single star review. Mrs. Patti and her husband were absolutely lovely and did everything to make us feel at home. We had stayed two days at small motel and regretted not spending it at the B and B! You could spend the entire day there and feel at ease. We enjoyed checkers, the innkeeper's company, delicious local tea, and the music surrounding the downstairs area. They were very helpful about what to do in the area and even where to sit and what to order at certain places (I.e. Log House). She even helped make our special outing more wonderful by assisting us with pictures!
Breakfast was also a very special treat. Talking with the other guests made it for an interesting morning, and the food was amazing. Even a simple appetizer of peaches and creme knocked our slippers off!!! It was painful to leave such a beautiful and comforting place. We'll be back at our Rosspoint room soon!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved the place. Breakfast was awesome and I even had something special because I am not a fan of eggs. Great hospitality. Quiet, beautiful place. I felt like a princess in a palace. Lots of attention to detail and charm. Definitely will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wytheville sat at the right point in our drive to the Smoky Mountains for an overnight stop so we checked out TA and found Trinkle Mansion was top of the list. It looked like it would suit us very well so we booked a night on the way down in 'Monroe' and a night on the way back in 'Wilder' (so difficult to pick one room over another).

When Patti greeted us at the door and invited us into the house, it plain took our breath away! The proportions of the foyer and stairs were amazing - you could almost fit our whole UK house in there! As we toured the house and heard the story of the renovation and the passion that drove Patti to work so hard to make it a truly great B&B, we were blown away to think this was just a brief stopover for us. So many just pull off the Interstate and stay in a cheap motel. This was stunning!! Both the rooms we stayed in had comfortable beds, very nice décor and furniture and wonderful bathrooms - Wilder has the larger bathroom and we liked the layout of its bedroom a little more than Monroe's.

Patti just epitomises 'Southern Hospitality' so we were not surprised at all the luxurious and welcoming touches she and Bernie have included at Trinkle Mansion. So many rooms and spaces for guests to use and enjoy and gorgeous décor throughout! Breakfast was another treat, sitting around the beautifully laid out dining table being served wonderful food and enjoying chatting with fellow guests.

This was an experience not to be rushed so we were happy to relax and unwind at Trinkle before hitting the road again. We were sorry not to have been able to meet Bernie on either occasion we stayed as it would have completed the picture for us!

We intend to recommend Trinkle Mansion to anyone we know will be driving I81 or wanting to visit the area. An experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our first visit, but won't be our last. Beautiful inn with a wonderful hostess. Soft beds and the greatest of breakfasts. Porch swings abound. Helpful information on activities and directions to a very good, small town visitors center. We are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here 1 night in the Garden Cottage and I am so happy were able to get a reservation. We were greeted by Bernie-he was on his own this weekend and he was so welcoming and gave us a tour of this beautiful Inn. The décor was incredible in every room down to the smallest details. The bed was extremely comfortable for a great nights sleep. My daughter slept on a pull out loveseat and commented that her bed was the most comfortable sleep she had the entire trip. Our breakfast in the morning included a delicious fruit cup, excellent coffee, orange juice, hollandaise sauce (which Bernie made home made and it was one of the best Hollandaise sauces we ever tasted-and my 20 year old even commented on the taste as well) over egg and ham on an English muffin and deliciously flavored potatoes with strawberries and orange slices. Breakfast ended with a warm light blueberry muffin. Listen to the Inn keepers when they recommend their favorite place to eat, we made a mistake and picked a not so great place to eat. Our bed was so comfortable and the soft robes were just so luxurious, I wished I could have stayed longer. We just loved the plantation shutters, and the hand soap in the bathroom so much that I went home and ordered the soap and a great cookbook I found in the room. Also we are going to get the plush robes and buy plantation shutters for our own bedroom at home-to bring a little bit of the Inn to our own home. Thank you Bernie for a wonderful stay and tour of your beautiful home. We would definitely come back to stay again if we are in that area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the Inn were beautiful, we stayed in the Garden Cottage because there were 3 of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 525 W Main St., Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes off I-77 and I-81 in Wytheville, Virginia. Located halfway between Charleston WV and Charlotte NC on I-77 and between Briston TN and Roanoke VA on I-81. Perfect stopover for those traveling to Myrtle Beach, Charleston, Savannah or Florida. Restored historic Bed & Breakfast offers four elegant guest rooms plus a private cottage for tranquil retreat or romantic getaway. Queen-sized beds with fine linens and private bathrooms with spa-inspired amenities. Delicious three-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinkle Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.