We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House 1776 Restaurant

The Log House 1776 Restaurant
520 E. Main St. (U.S. 11), Wytheville, VA
276-228-4139
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Wytheville
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A quaint, historic building with slower paced service that offers a relaxing dinner experience. Our entree included a loaf of hot white bread which is happily replenished if you desire. We ordered stuffed chicken, baked potato & stuffed squash and stuffed pork tenderloin, parsley red potato and green beans -- both very good dishes. We were too full for dessert but the apple dumpling was tempting. The entrees with 2 glasses of wine came to $65. Definitely a place to check out!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    155
    47
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Verry Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stopped twice while on trips. Dinner was consistent- pretty good food in a historic colonial atmosphere. Service is slow and I think they are a little over priced. My wife likes to visit the shops in the back. They could do better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba Island, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth leaving the highway for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of a kind atmosphere originating in 1776 and 35 years ago converted to a restauant. Very, very rustic and as some of the other reviews stated you probably shouldn't go if speed is part of your dining style. We stopped for the night on our way south and the hotel (Fairfield) refered us to the Log House. Great menu selection, I had the ribeye with blue cheese/mushrooms and the house squash which weas great but there is seafood fish and other choices if meat isn't your thing. This is a wine and beer place so if you want the hard stuff you'll have to pass. We took our glass of wine and took a walk around and found some additional seating that would be private for a couple or small group. Staff very friendly but again be patient and have fun or find some romance. I wouldn't recomend kids but the do have a kids menu. Great evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Interesting and Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were here on Saturday evening, and did call to make a reservation when we arrived in town. We were seated right away, and our drink and dinner orders were taken very promptly. When our drinks arrived, we took them with us and took a leisurely stroll around the property. So glad we did, since there is lots to see! We didn't wait long at all for our dinners to arrive. That is kind of when the service fell apart. We never laid eyes on our waiter for the next hour or so. Glad to say there were no problems with our meals, didn't need condiments, water or drink refills, but I'm not sure what we would have done if there were...maybe take the plates back to the kitchen ourselves? Eventually we got a waitress to go find our waiter so we could get the check.
The food was very good and pretty reasonably priced.
This is such an interesting and unique place that we can't help but recommend it. We expected slow service and expected to spend the evening here, but our waiter was definitely below par.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visit The Log House five or six times a year. We will pause before we go back. The wait staff were slow, forgetful and not very interested in telling us the details of certain items. None of the wait staff was dressed nicely. They looked like they were going out to a dive after work and needed to wear grubby clothes. This is the first review EVER where I complained.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Log House 1776 Restaurant also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to The Log House 1776 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Log House 1776 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.