We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time and dine by oil lamps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House 1776 Restaurant

The Log House 1776 Restaurant
520 E. Main St. (U.S. 11), Wytheville, VA
276-228-4139
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Wytheville
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Moundsville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Travel back in time and dine by oil lamps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This historic home has been converted into a restaurant. The menu was varied. The salmon and cheff special pork loin were excellent. But not a place for small children or the impatient. The kitchen can only accommodate a certain number at a time. It was worth the wait. Try the fried grits and baked squash as sides, yummy! Take time to see the garden and gift shop with artistic creations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    157
    47
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is well off the beaten path, however the quality of the kitchen, ambience in the bar, and general rustic yet sophisticated ranks with any New York or Miami eatery. Worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing at best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had an 8:15 reservation following a long day of travel and a recommendation from our hotel clerk. We were delighted as we entered the restaurant, but the fun stopped there! Even though the place is unique (my friend is an antiques dealer), the building itself was the best part of the experience. Our waitress immediately explained that the food would take "a while", and left us to peruse the menu. Our drink orders took 10 minutes to arrive, and that was the shortest wait we experienced. After our salads, my friend and I walked around the property for 30 min or so, during which time the waitress never approached the table....and then another 15 minutes passed before the food arrived. All of our food, except the potato, was cool right from the start, but since the waitress never appeared again until we were finished, we never got to voice a complaint! (Nice method!!) She was unapologetic, but did promise to "mention" it to the kitchen. Over all, a very disappointing experience, although if the food was hot, it would probably have been worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very unique log house from 1776 with full bar restaurant and gift shops. Food was delicious and the first time I have ever had fried grits. They were great. Ham steak was good. Definitely recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to us by a local hotel as "premier" eating place in town. What we found was a very interesting historical log house that is very poorly maintained, dirty glass in windows, dead vines hanging all over the window by our table, entry ramp overgrown with greenery, staff less than friendly. Then there is the food. Ham slice was no more than 1/8" thick, if that and way overdone, actually dry and hard. We waited 45 min on our meal to arrive, which was not good after 10 hours on the road. I would not choose to go back there. "Premier", I think not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Log House 1776 Restaurant also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to The Log House 1776 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Log House 1776 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.