We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service, dated sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wytheville KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wytheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wytheville KOA
Save Saved
You added Wytheville KOA to your Saves list
231 KOA Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome service, dated sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The service at this KOA is the best I've hade ( and I stay at many). the owner and the staff were very friendly and responsive. We had some RV trouble and they directed us to a really good local mechanic. They also suggested some nice things to do in the area (while we waited on repairs) and a wonder place to eat. Couldn't ask for better hosts! Spacious park, with lots of amenities and super clean restrooms. The only down side is the sites - they are a little dated...but believe the owner is updating them this winter...so expect a class A site in the spring. We will definitely be back on our next trip through the area!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snydersville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was forced off 81 due to 0 visibility and hurricane winds. Wytheville was the closest KOA. The hosts were very nice on this blustery day and I ended up in a Kamping Lodge.

What a wonderful surprise. This campground appears to have everything your family could want to have a wonderful vacation.

I was content in my spacious Lodge with bathroom ... full kitchen ...... dining area .... patio w/table, chairs and umbrella ...... private deck with porch swing. I could go on and on.

Nice people ..... nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent the night at Wytheville KOA for one night after 177 and I81 were shut down do to an unusual April snow storm. Checked in around 8pm. Office was closed. Checked out at 9:00am the next morning. Office was still closed. Ground was covered in snow so it was hard to figure out exact location of campsites. We were able to get water despite the cold temperatures. Sites seemed small. Did not use any of the facilities so can't comment. The property is supposedly a nice place to stay in the summer. Site is convenient to Interstate but located far enough away that you don't hear any road noise. Road into the campground looks like you are going through a neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Wytheville KOA overnight on our way to Florida in January. The owners were nice, and the restrooms and showers were clean. We were worried about finding open campgrounds during the winter months, and were happy to find this one. We will stay there again as we travel the eastern states.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed while traveling throughout the States the fall of 2012. We found the campgrounds very pleasant, clean and the staff friendly, willing to help in anyway they could. We had no hesitation about spending a night, which turned into a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this site in a 34 foot motor home. The campground is very quiet and very nice with paved pull-through sites and a nice little general store. The owners are very nice and the park has a number of permanent sites (which I see as a good thing).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Snow covered the ground while the sun shined and it was 64 degrees. We had a campfire and enjoyed some local wine while viewing the beautiful surroundings atop the mountain. Perfect spot and the cabin was affordable, clean, and well maintained. Very pleased, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wytheville KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wytheville KOA

Address: 231 KOA Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wytheville KOA is conveniently located right off the highway in an area of the state known for its natural beauty. We offer convenient access to the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as Skyline Drive and many other area attractions. Here at the campground we have a 50 foot water slide, family fun center, fishing and spacious campsites for recreational vehicles, fifth wheels or travel trailers. We even offer cabins for those traveling without their own equipment or tent sites for that back to nature getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wytheville KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.