We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Oxford, OH
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was travelling to the Coast of NC and had to stop in Wytheville as a good place and the Hilton would have been $120 just to sleep and this place had gotten good reviews so I figured I would give it a try. I opted for "Mountain View" for $10 more. Well maybe you can see it in the winter but all I saw was trees. But it is on the back so it was quiet! The place is rather spartan but clean, the guy at the front desk a little taciturn but nice and they had painted a nice wheat pattern on the cinder block walls! MY bed was fine, the WiFi worked and all and all I was a happy camper. The shower was a little weak but I cleaned up fine. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
37
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We travel a lot and now we have found the perfect place to stay when we perform in Bristol.. The owner Pete is so friendly..The rooms are clean.. Great breakfast, totally recommend this motel!!!
Great

Room Tip: Lower rooms, your car is right outside your door!! TV, Fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great little motel to stay in. There are a lot of other motels in the area for more money. Our room was large enough for us. The shower was nice and hot. There is a train that you can hear at night and in the morning, but honestly, we loved the sound. Hadn't heard that sounds since we were both kids.
The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Would definitely stay there again if we're traveling through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First off, let me say that I knew for $60 on a Friday night that we were not getting the Ritz Carlton, however, this place was a little bit scary. I will give it a 2 (instead of a 1) because it was clean other than that and a convenient location off of the interstate, I have nothing else positive to say. We arrived about 9:30 PM, the man at the front desk was pleasant enough and told us we were around back. That's when the "fun" begins. Poorly lit, with a grassy knoll behind the parking lot with tree stumps that in the dark look like headstones greeted us once we parked. We climbed the carpeted steps outside as we were on the second floor. Opened our room door and were greeted with suffocating heat. I turned the air on immediately but for the first hour or so if we were not sitting directly in front of the air conditioner then it felt like a sauna. Flowers painted on cinderblocks would describe the décor and linoleum tile from 1975 in the bathroom that was not level. No air in the bathroom so it was scorching the entire time. One of the outlets sparked badly when attempting to plug in a phone charger and we had a light next to the bed that kept flickering on and off until I eventually turned it off (also to a small electrical shock). I slept maybe 2.5 hours out of the 10 or so we were there. The bed was OK but with everything else, heat in the room, noise form outside of car doors slamming all night long, I found it difficult to rest. There are many other options in the area so next time we will choose one of those. Unless everything else is full or you fell like tempting fate then I suggest you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgethostVa, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed there on my way to and from Myrtle Beach.

I can't give it 4 stars but it is perfect for what I needed. It had an ice machine, comfortable bed, ice machine, breakfast, and wifi.

Also both guys I talked to at the front desk were awesome. I recommend the Applebees but it can get busy.

I would absolutely come back if I decide to drive to Myrtle Beach again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thoroughly concur with other reveiwers. Don't be put off by the modest exterior and décor in the units. The rooms have good beds, are very clean and the breakfast is all you need to start the day. The owner is helpful and friendly. Great value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

DH and I needed a place to stay that was as close to $50 as we could get. It was 1:30am in the morning and we just wanted to sleep for a few hours before continuing on to North Carolina. We stopped at another hotel up the road and they wanted $85 for one "night" and we decided to move on up the road to this place. The outside can be deceptive (like others have said), and the interior of the rooms is outdated, but the room was CLEAN, and had everything we needed for our short stay (i.e. comfy beds, a tv, a nice shower, good towels, a mini-fridge, etc). The desk staff were friendly and so all was great! We didn't take advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast because we saw there were other options nearby. As others have said, it served our needs and served them well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
#8 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Wytheville
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.