We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Wytheville
Goodrich, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My siblings and I were on a Journey to North Carolina from Michigan. On our way back, we thought we'd go to the nearby Virginia state park. Stopped here for the night and was very pleasantly surprised at this little motel. Great Rates for a nice room! Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Basic cinder block walls were creatively painted in some kind of stencil that was very pleasing to the eye. Basic, yes, but nice, clean, and friendly. Love the Southern Accents, too! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
31
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place is very basic... And fairly dated with the decor - flowery wall paper etc!

I was surprised and how clean it felt and was fine to stay in for the one night.

There's a great restaurant across the road which we walked to for dinner.

For the price, it wasn't too bad.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My trip was slowed by traffic and I knew I could not reach my destination so I checked trip advisor and decided to stay here. It's a little tricky to see where to turn but not too difficult from Interstate 81 or 77. Front desk staff was friendly. Room was clean, bath clean, there was a little bit of a disinfectant smell, maybe the staff oversprayed. It was up on a slight hill and back a bit from the Interstate so there was no traffic noise. Many food choices at this exit (exit 73 from I 81). Not bad for less than $50 a night.

Room Tip: Some rooms have refrigerators, some don't. Ask if you need one. Coupons are available in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We were here at the end of the 4th of July weekend. We had been stuck in traffic for over an hour, so the motel was a welcome sight. We checked in close to 10 pm. The owner was very nice and friendly. The room was clean and the price was low. Just fine for one night. No special amenities, but there was a small breakfast in the lobby in the morning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This inn is clean, quiet and comfortable. What more could you ask for 50 bucks? This inn is no more than a one star motel but it is certainly not less. I have stayed in many places not nearly this nice for lots more money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I did not like the place..you could hear the neighbors next to me and the walls were brick so it was very easy to hear them. Also, the beds were terrible..I would strongly encourage anyone to bring their OWN PILLOWS as the ones here feel like ROCKS! You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It is an older property.Price was a value.We had a late late night check-in.No Problems.Staff worked with us on that.But the bottom line is ,It's a CLEAN property with a friendly front desk.Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.