We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good stopover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was fine for a stopover. In a tiny town that you wouldn't want to visit, but are likely just stopping over this was convenient and comfortable. A little reminiscent of the Bates Motel it was actually not bad. Not much to look at from the outside but clean and comfortable enough. Keep in mind that this is a very budget motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
35
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

And must agree with the majority. It was affordable, convenient, clean, quiet and the beds and pillows were VERY comfortable. It is a very old motel and has that look to it, in fact we were a bit apprehensive upon pulling up because from the road it is not very inviting. However, if you need a place to lay your head when traveling I highly recommend it. This was one of the few times we were not traveling with our pets and was disappointed to learn they do not accept dogs, otherwise we would surely make this a routine visit when going to visit family.

We left before 6am so we didn't get to enjoy the breakfast provided so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

What do you need for a short overnight stay when traveling long distance? A good location, clean room. Hot shower and a low rate.

The budget host offers all of these. They even provide a small continental breakfast starting at 6 am to get you back on the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Myrtle Beach. The owner working the front desk is super nice. Although the place is pretty outdated it was clean and very quiet. We ended up also staying there on our return trip home...nearly every hotel. Etween Greensboro and Wytheville was full - except the accommodating Budget Host. The owner remembered us from our stay the previous week! Excellent. Will definitely be staying there in the future.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfordwoods, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room located right off the exit Quiet air conditioning and quiet rooms. Great for sleeping. For the price you can't beat it. Very friendly service! Make sure you go to the Log House for dinner

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this motel. The manager, Pete has always been nice, helpful and friendly. Goes out of his way to help however he can. We will be sure to stay here in the future when we are in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgethostVa, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a time to write a review. Also, thank you for staying with us. Will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is not fancy but is a nice stop on your way to Williamsburg. We got here late at night and were checked right in by the friendly night staff. The room was outdated but very clean. Surprisingly there was even a small refrigerator in the room! The price of this room was very reasonable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.