We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Wytheville
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

During a road trip down I-81, we stopped in Wytheville for an overnight stop and stumbled on the Budget Host Inn. This is a simple, budget motel and not the newest facility in the area. However, the room was exceptionally well maintained and very clean. It is a good value for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
31
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is probably one of the cleaner motels you'll find in this class. The decor of the room was straight from the 60s or 70s, which is sort of fun considering it doesn't look or feel run down. The staff was very welcoming, and way more helpful than the average place.

There is plenty of parking, and the property feels safe. Getting there is just a little bit tricky since the MapQuest/Google directions are a little misleading. Turn sooner rather than later, and you'll find it.

Overall this motel could use a few updates, but is clean, comfortable, and well-run. I would stay there again for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

I regularly travel through virginia and have been looking for a good place to stay in for western part of the state. My favorite hotel chain has been raising their prices through the roof so I needed to look elsewhere. I give this a try based on other reviews and I am very pleased with this hotel. There is nothing fancy about it however it is a very clean well kept place. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Was only booked about 30mins before arrival but all was ready,even a fresh pot of coffee was made at midnight. Was very keen to see that I had everything I needed and knew what facilities were in room and breakfast procedures for later that morning

Room Tip: Used Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgethostVa, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking a time to write your experience with Budget Host Inn-Wytheville. Glad you enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel was one of many budget hotels I stayed in on a recent road trip. I have to say, this was also the worst hotel. I didn't get a very clean feeling in the room - things weren't dirty, they just weren't very clean either. Also, there was no shampoo provided by the hotel, which was the first I've ever not seen it in a room (and ironically, we needed it). The hotel was in a good location though, and it did seem safe. Also, the hotel said there was high-speed internet, but I could not get a connection through the hotel and had to pick up on Super 8's Wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgethostVa, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for writing about Budget Host Inn. First of all, if room was not clean, you needed to go back to front desk and ask for another room or ask for refund within the 15 mins. you mantioned there was no shampoos in the room! 2 people check s the rooms after maid clean the rooms. there is no way all 3 people missed it. You said internet you had to pickup from super 8 motel. We do not have a super 8 motel even nearby. our network is always up and running. incase if you had a connection problem, you always dial 0 and ask front desk about the problem. what would you do at home if your excellent internet is not working? do nothing or call provider?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

For at least the past 10 yrs., my family and i, have stayed here. It's in our "budget" range, and i find, that there is not a single thing wrong with it. The management and the staff, are very pleasant, and when i make my reservation's for staying there, they are always happy to meet my needs. Like i said, i find nothing wrong with staying there, and in my opinion, who needs a 5 star place to stay, as long as you have a nice place to lay your head..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hotel was advertised in giveaway at welcome center. When I called for Friday rate, not mentioned in the ad, it was $45. That was tax included for a clean comfortable room, easy access to and from 77 and 81. Continental breakfast includes white bread and a toaster, three kinds of pastry and three cereals, but no place to sit down to eat other than take food back to room. You may well be checked in and out by the owner, Pete Patel, a gracious and hospitable man, but not forward.
I'll stay there next time I am passing through.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 705 Chapman Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.