We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibachi or regular is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Sushi & Hibachi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tokyo Sushi & Hibachi
215 Commonwealth Drive #5, Wytheville, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Wytheville
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: The most artistic sushi I have ever seen
Restaurant details
Description: The most artistic sushi I have ever seen
Wytheville, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hibachi or regular is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

For dinner sitting at the hibachi table is the way to go! Very entertaining and it is delicious. Only downside I have noticed is you only get rice, I have been to others that offer noodles and loved that option. Don't let that get you down about this place though! It is certainly delicious and a little gem in Wytheville. If my husband and I are meeting for lunch, we like to grab a table and just order a "bento" meal. Same exact thing but much less wait time involved!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural Retreat, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't expect to find may Japanese here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is ok, the food is ok, but I prefer the real Japanese Steak Houses. The service is outstanding, but the price can be really high. The bento box seems to be the best deal. They are trying to make it in a small town, so having an upscale Asian restaurant, even if they are of different nationality is better than nothing. If you are a P.F. Chang kind of person and I'm not talking the frozen food from Walmart lol, then your not gonna be impressed. Like I said, it's ok, your probably not gonna be disappointed, just don't be expecting high end Japanese.

Note: We ate there a few nights ago and it was close to 0 degrees outside, the restaurant was very cold, kinda like they didn't really want to turn the heat up. We literally ate in our coats as well as everyone else sitting around us, the staff acted like it was kinda funny, but maybe I want come back until summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Tokyo Japan just didn't provide an Awesome Sushi experience. The Sushi was average and the Stir-Fried Noodles were good, but the vegetables were few and far between and not the best cuts. Specialty Sushi items were $4 or $5 higher than most similar restaurants. Ginger Salad was also a little bland.
I visited on a slow weeknight and the service/kitchen was very fast. (Faster than I was eating)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennismore On
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lots of choices for the sushi lover and for one who like a hibachi or a selection off the menu. The service was quick and friendly. The restaurant was easy to find.
Many combinations with veggies, soup and salad are available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Japanese Food Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't know what that one review is talking about. I've eaten here probably 6 times in the past couple of months and I don't plan to stop. Every single time I am greeted by a smiling hostess, the servers are kind and attentive, never had an order error, and the food? The sushi is unbelievable. I've also had a couple other entrees not sushi related that blew my mind, so this place can do it all. If you're in Wytheville, skipping this place is a mistake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Sushi & Hibachi also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Sushi & Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Sushi & Hibachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.