We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wallet was happy, family... not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Wytheville

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Wytheville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Wytheville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   220 Lithia Road, I-77/I-81 North at Exit #73, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Wytheville
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wallet was happy, family... not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We normally stay at more mid level hotels, but thought I give a budget hotel a shot. The family wasn't thrilled when I pulled into this Motel 6. But overall the hotel was good for the price. Our room was one of the remodeled rooms, but I wouldn't call it a complete remodel. There was a lot of poorly done patch work on the walls and the lament floor was already showing some wear. But still pretty clean.

Pros:
1/2 the price of most other mid range hotels
Generally Clean
Newly painted / quasi-remodeled rooms


Cons:
Towels had rust spots (at least I hope it was rust)
I did find a stray hair in the bed sheets
Slight funky smell
One bed had stains on the comforter
Family would rather I pay for a nicer hotel (if mama ain't happy no one is happy)

Room Tip: As for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
17
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida and Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Half way between FL & PA. I would stay here again. I am not sure the office is accessible. Built on a hillside there are steep steps although the rooms are on one level. Choose a room close to the office and the pool where the renovated rooms are. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The motel is a little difficult to find and it is on the side of the hill. The parking for the lobby is small. The desk staff was efficient and our room was ready upon our arrival. The room was well used but clean. The TV had lots of channels. Our car was parked right outside our door, which is good for security but not so good when the man from the next room didn't know how to get in his car without sounding it's alarm. It was an okay place for an over night stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wytheville is a good place to stop on a long roadtrip if you're looking for cheap and convenient. This Motel 6 is slightly better than average, though it looks a little dodgy at first glance. The chief benefit: It's really cheap.

Motel was clean-ish. Bed, sheets and bathroom were fine. As long as you didn't look too closely at the walls or the nightstand, it was okay. Towels were clean and smelled comfortingly of bleach.

Motel 6 is bare bones, so it was as expected. Coffee was available in the morning, but it unpalatable and served with powdered coffee whitener (which really makes it not coffee in my books). On the plus side, they did not charge for wi-fi and it was sufficient, if a bit slow.

Still, it's cheap, clean-ish, close to the highway and surrounded with all of the inexpensive chain restaurants that permit a fast, cheap meal on your way to the next stop.

Does the job.

Room Tip: I think they're probably all the same - choose a room closer to the office if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for a single night on a trip going north- this motel is just off a convenient exit for I-81/I-77, and there are some restaurants in the immediate area, although the "main" restaurant/shopping district is within a couple of miles.

Price for a Friday night was a deal at 39.99 plus tax- coming to just under $45 total. The desk staff, and I was registered in minutes.

This is a single-story motel, with parking directly outside the door- something I like. The room looks like it has been recently remodeled, with a nice wide-screen TV, microwave and mini-fridge. Instead of carpet, the floor looks like some sort of wood paneling. Everything was nice and clean, and there were no bugs. The wi-fi was very fast and easy to connect. There was not a hair dryer in the bathroom area, nor was shampoo/conditioner supplied, so bring your own.

The bed was very clean and comfortable, and the room was very quiet- no road noise here- and I was able to get a very good night's sleep. I would definitely recommend this motel as a good value for a low price, for anyone traveling on the nearby highways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ok, this is a motel. Motor - hotel. 3 strips of 1 story buildings with 4' of concrete between your car and your room door.

This was what I expected. Simple room, good enough. Clean. The furnishing were tired and it's time to change out the carpet, but per other reviews they are in process.

For $40 it was fine. Easy access off interstate and efficient checkin.

If traveling by myself and not wanting to spend much, I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good value for the price. A bit scary looking from outside. The rooms were clean, beds I found rather uncomfortable. Overall for the price it was ok for a quick stop over. In the future,I would most likely choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Wytheville

Address: 220 Lithia Road, I-77/I-81 North at Exit #73, Wytheville, VA 24382
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Wytheville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Motel Six Wytheville
Wytheville Motel 6
Wytheville Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Wytheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.