We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, obnoxious charge for safe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   355 Nye Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent room, obnoxious charge for safe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I paid $53+tax for a king bed via an internet coupon. (The base rate on this coupon for a smaller bed or for doubles is $49.) You can also find discount books that offer a similar rate at rest areas and similar places, although I couldn't find any such books in any truck stops or restaurants in the Wytheveville area.

Anyway, this is a decent deal, even considering you have a lot of options in Wytheville. The bed was comfy, pillows were plentiful, the linens and towels were fine if not luxurious, the property is well-maintained and everything in my room worked fine. My TV was an older tube model but got dozens of channels. You will probably encounter some road noise (hard to avoid in Wytheville) but I do just fine running the fan at night. The property is in a rather secluded area where you can't actually *see* the freeways or other tourist facilities, while still providing good access to I-77, if this matters.

Service was fair. Only one woman was on the desk in the evening, and a line often formed for service. Before checking in I repeatedly left (to explore other hotels, eat etc) and returned until there was no line... this took a long time. Nothing about the breakfast was especially nutritious or appetizing. Coffee is available all morning, which was nice.

Worst feature was the $1 "safe fee", which is really $1+tax. This offends me as it is an overt attempt at opportunistic nickel-and-diming, it's something I have to remember to get removed, and it slows down the checkout process. (In fact it forces me to go to the desk in the morning in the first place, rather than just leaving, creating more work for the staff as well.) Don't insult me by calling it a "convenience", it's an INconvenience to get it removed. It's also legally questionable, as some states require all charges to be disclosed at booking (not sure about Va) and it becomes harder to compare rates side-by-side. I know most of the Choice chain does this nowadays, but Marriott, Hilton and the like see no need to insult its customers in this fashion. Come on, Best Western, you're better than this. You get one star for "service".

Anyway... if you're looking for sit-down food, groceries or shopping, don't be out too late. Many of the stores in this area close at 9 or 10 pm. Drive-thrus mostly close at 11 or midnight, and the fast-food joints in the nearby TA truckstop close at 11 I think. Wytheville's economy is pretty much serving freeway travelers, so I found this surprising.

Room Tip: Use fan to mask road noise. Ask to have charge for safe removed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear ANON4444
Please accept our sincere thanks for providing our services to you during your visit to Best Western Wytheville Inn.
I do apologize for any inconvenience that you incurred. The room safe is disclosed on all registrations. Our new televisions will be here soon.
Our customer relations are very important to us here at Best Western Wytheville Inn. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    163
    103
    61
    37
See reviews for
195
180
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Let me start and say is an OK hotel. Typical of a lot of lower end hotels. We stop because of the great reviews on Trip adviser and the awards it won.

One, the check in person was slow and seemed to be on pain killers, loopy. She literally went on smoke break after us.....smoke break while people were waiting to check in and SHE TOLD THEM IT WOULD BE 10 MINUTES, if I had been them I would have left. I hope they did.

If that was the worst of it I would have given a better review. The room smelled just like most cheaper hotels. There no elevator to the second floor. The room decor and furniture was average, typical of cheap hotels. If I had not had the coupon for 49.99, the hotel coupon book you can get at the rest stops. I would have been very disappointed. There are better choices for 10-15 dollars more, like the Comfort Inn next to it.

Over all, for 50 bucks it was basic room that had some issues. I have no idea how it got those awards or rating. All in all I would say it was barely worth 50 a night. If I had to price this, I would say it should be a 40 dollar a night and it would have been worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear momdadsefi2010
Thank you for your recent comments to Trip Advisor. I do appreciate all comments that are sent to our property. Using these comments we can see from the perspective of others where we need to make improvements to our property and staff.
I do apologize that we were not up to the standard that you expected from Best Western Wytheville Inn.
Our customers are very important to us and we do hope you will consider us again in the future.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

After 10 hours of driving it was very nice to receive a friendly welcome at the front desk and a surprise of freshly popped popcorn. The entire hotel is very clean and more importantly our room was squeaky clean and had a fresh welcome scent for a non smoker. I especially liked the clean bedding and a good mattress as this is my number one expectation.

The continental breakfast was good and all the food was fresh and nicely presented. There is also have a very clean and comfortable area to enjoy your breakfast.

My thanks to the Best Western Team at Wytheville....we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Mr W,
Please accept our sincere thanks for the opportunity to provide our services to you during your recent stay at the Best Western Wytheville.
We want our guest to feel at home whether this was your first visit or one of many.
We will look forward to another visit from you in the future.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've stopped here twice now and have been very pleased with the convenience traveling with our dogs. Fortunately, the pet rooms here haven't smelled like smoke. We're non smokers so it really is bothersome when hotels put us in smoking rooms because we have dogs. we're very conscientious pet travelers and our dogs stay on their beds, not the hotels. So, we appreciate getting a decent smoke free room. The rooms here are definitely just average as one expects at Best Western. But very clean and sufficient for an overnight rest. Especially convenient to take the dogs 'potty' on the first floor. Very nice gentleman at the front desk both times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Please accept our sincere thanks for your comments to Trip Advisor concerning you visit with Best Western Wytheville Inn. We will look forward to a visit from you in the future. Thank you. Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We made a stop here after a long night of driving on our way to Florida. Staff was friendly. Room was clean, although we did find one bug. Breakfast is only served until 9. But overall good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor concerning you visit with Best Western Wytheville Inn. We appreciate all comments and use this information to improve the quality of our facility. Our customer relations are very important to use and hope you will consider us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great location to sleep for the night, right off I77, and get right back on the highway in the morning, reception was very pleasant, room was clean and comfortable, and great breakfast in the morning. We were able to get a good continental breakfast and make our own fresh waffles... great, very happy with accomodations and price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Please accept our sincere thanks for the opportunity to provide our services to you. We want our guest to feel at home when visiting Best Western Wytheville Inn. We look forward to a visit from you in the future. Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight stay while on the road on January 9, 2011. Got there about 6:00, and we were checked in quickly and efficiently.

The room had two queen beds, both with 3 pillows, which meant we didn't have to drag our own in from the car. The room was clean, inviting, and there's a microwave and a fridge in the room! WIFi worked great, and the bathroom was clean and modern.

Breakfast was waffles, sausage gravy/biscuits, pastries, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, juice, coffee, milk, toast. Couldn't ask for much more for $67/night. The place was quiet--probably because it was a weekday and most holiday travelers were home by this time.

Beds were slightly hard, but that's not a deal-breaker for us, as no matter where one stays, the beds are either "too soft or too hard." Too subjective of a thing to total write off a hotel, in our opinion. Bottom line was that we slept well and awoke rested. That's the key for us.

Checkout was prompt and efficient. Gave us a card for a 20% discount on the next stay (no expiration). That will make us definitely check with Best Western on our way through in the future.

Room Tip: Bottom floor probably good. We had Room 119, which was far enough from ice machines and the door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Please accept our sincere thank for your comments to Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Best Western Wytheville Inn. We want our guest to feel at home whether this was your first stay or one of many. We look forward to having you visit with us again. Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn

Address: 355 Nye Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inn Wytheville. Wake up to a great day at our hotel in Wytheville, VA. Enjoy a gorgeous sunrise over the mountains and a delicious complimentary breakfast. For business, our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected. For pleasure, the outdoor pool is a great way to relax in the afternoon. Best of all, Best Western Inn Wytheville offers pet-friendly accommodations so you can bring the whole family along! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Best Western Hotel Wytheville
Wytheville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.