We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not kid friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2594 East Lee Highway, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Wytheville
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We headed to Wytheville for a basketball tournament. We selected this property by recommendation of a tournament organizer. 6 families were traveling together. The hotel did give a great rate. From the moment we got there, the complaints began. The hotel is not built well and it's very noisy. Our keys kept not working (and they were not by cell phones), the pool chlorine was so out of balance, my child cried when he jumped in because it stung his lips and eyes. It turns out the pool maintenance person had quit several days before and chlorine was just being dumped in pool. The treadmills had loose belts and were dangerous. The front desk clerk said that between 9-10am extended stay guests complained our boys making noise in the breakfast area. Why are known extended stay guests being placed near a lobby, public area? Shouldn't guests be able to speak and move around at 9-10 am? In the morning, dogs barked in the hall. Overall, terrible experience!

The only two positives are that the housekeeping staff member on the 2nd floor and the breakfast area member were kind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
22
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I chose the Comfort Inn because of the pictures and amenities. Taking 2 days to drive home we wanted a place we could relax and swim/work out. The pool was FREEZING. The workout equipment was all inoperable. The towels were frayed and long pass their usage. The breakfast well let's just say my mother used to give us powdered milk. Didn't expect it there. The bowl that held the fruit was so dirty and the apples were old. The elevator looked like it had never been cleaned. the building as a whole is in disrepair. (eg. wallpaper coming off walls and outside facad needs work) Just an all around unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Needed an inexpensive room that was clean and convenient. This one was perfect. Stayed one night on our way from Ohio to hhi. Close to the highway and room was clean with newer looking bedding. Breakfast was great. Waffles eggs sausage fruit and yogurt. Overall good experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Near the south end of Wytheville. Actually at Max Meadows. Restaurant right next door is closed on Sunday. Recommend one check out Italian Garden which is about 4 miles from the hotel. (See separate review.) Hotel is ready for an updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stopped here on a long road trip when we were just too tired to go any further. Comfortable and clean rooms with a reasonable breakfast. Special mention to the girl at the desk (Melissa, I think) who was very friendly and really helpful. I wholeheartedly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed here and compared to two years ago when we stayed here, we were disappointed. The rooms need updating (get rid of the outdated wallpaper borders), towels were small and scratchy, the two treadmills in the fitness room, were in need of repair. Breakfast food was limited to all white, bread, bagel, biscuits, rotten bananas, a couple containers of yogurt and not much else. Don't go next door the the family diner, as the potatoes, squash, we're frozen/ out of a box, the green beans were out of a can and the meatloaf and chicken, we're barely edible. We previously went to Flying J's restaurant and the meal was much tastier. Stay at the Hampton Inn in Wytheville and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The service was ok. The breakfast food was empty when I arrived to eat, but the hostess was in the back enjoying her own breakfast. The rooms are terribly outdated, pillows uncomfortable, carpet needs replaced. The pool was the worst with paint chipping off into the water. If they put some money back into this property, it would do better. Obviously they're not doing that. It was extremely overpriced for what I got. I will not return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel Wytheville
Comfort Inn Wytheville
Wytheville Comfort Inn
Address: 2594 East Lee Highway, Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.