We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This inn needs an update!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2594 East Lee Highway, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This inn needs an update!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed here and compared to two years ago when we stayed here, we were disappointed. The rooms need updating (get rid of the outdated wallpaper borders), towels were small and scratchy, the two treadmills in the fitness room, were in need of repair. Breakfast food was limited to all white, bread, bagel, biscuits, rotten bananas, a couple containers of yogurt and not much else. Don't go next door the the family diner, as the potatoes, squash, we're frozen/ out of a box, the green beans were out of a can and the meatloaf and chicken, we're barely edible. We previously went to Flying J's restaurant and the meal was much tastier. Stay at the Hampton Inn in Wytheville and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    17
    1
    6
See reviews for
24
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The service was ok. The breakfast food was empty when I arrived to eat, but the hostess was in the back enjoying her own breakfast. The rooms are terribly outdated, pillows uncomfortable, carpet needs replaced. The pool was the worst with paint chipping off into the water. If they put some money back into this property, it would do better. Obviously they're not doing that. It was extremely overpriced for what I got. I will not return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here b/c the pool at Fairfield was under repair. The Comfort Inn pool was in the lower 80s which was better than we had seen lately - coming from hotels that all seemed to have pool heating problems. We had never stayed at a Comfort Inn before. Initially I was impressed with the front desk staff that actually gave me a quick tour before I paid for the room. Unfortunately, we didn't end up staying in that room - and instead I requested one on the 2nd floor - which was apparently near the elevator and a downstairs heat pump. The heat pump kept us up half the night. The bedding looked very nice, but under the comforter I saw that the blanket was old and worn. The quality of the room furniture was lacking - not real wood and a patch on the sofa. The breakfast bar lady was very nice and kept the bar well-stocked and clean. They didn't ask us how our stay was - as I think that they didn't want to know. I am pretty sure that they know about the heat pump problem, so ask to be in a room away from the heat pump.

Room Tip: Stay away from Downstairs heat pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Good value hotel that helps us traveling with our full family, including pets.
The room was clean, spacious, well decorated and comfortable. Plenty of hot water.
It is very convenient to I-81, but located where you don't hear any road noise.
One drawback was that my wife was so comfortable, we didn't get back on the road as early as we wanted to. Our dog was very happy as well.
We will be back again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, SC
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

One of the nicer pet friendly hotels we have stayed in! First room had a definite odor, but they immediately moved us to one that was fine, no problem. Spacious, beds were comfortable, our cat loved looking out the window (which had a nice, big base perfect to sit on and survey the world), the bathroom was not huge but fine, GREAT water pressure! Breakfast was normal motel breakfast, fine but nothing special although I think they did have the waffle maker... Would definitely stay here again. Easy access from the interstate. Good gas station right next door.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the stairwell/elevator for a more quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia, USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Traveling with my elderly parents and kindergarten son, this was the 1/2 way point on our trip. After checking in, we went to dinner at which time my father had to be transported to the emergency room by ambulance. I dropped my son and mother off at the hotel and went to the hospital. I later called the hotel and asked to be connected to the room registered to our last name and she said she did not have that name staying. I then asked if our name was registered to room 107 and she said no. Being aware that more than 1 comfort inn in the area, I tried another and eventually called the first back and just asked to be connected to our room number. Under the circumstances I was in, this error on the front desk clerks part was unforgivable. I did not feel that this hotel lived up to typical Comfort Inn quality and service and would not stay at this location again. I arrived back at the room at 12:30 AM and under other circumstances, I would have relocated to another hotel. The room was LESS than clean, pillows were terrible, bedding/sheets were very worn not crisp and white.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We used this place as a stayover on a very long highway trip. The room was clean and the staff was super-nice. Breakfast was the basic hotel free breakfast. It got crowded around 8:15 because apparently that is the magic hour for families. Before that, though, it was wide open. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2594 East Lee Highway, Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Wytheville
Comfort Inn Wytheville
Wytheville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.