We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! For hot dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs"

Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs"
165 East Main Street, Wytheville, VA 24382
276-228-2611
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 restaurants in Wytheville
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Serving up great food since 1925, Skeeter’s has been serving world famous “SKEETERDOGS” to locals and travelers for generations. Experience Skeeter’s “World Famous Hotdogs” a true Wytheville tradition!
South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent! For hot dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

An old Army buddy of mine from Limestone, TN turned my wife and I on to Skeeter's and we loved stopping in while passing through Wytheville last year. We loved the ladies who waited on us and loved the dogs. Order any dog you want....you can't go wrong at Skeeter's. We plan on stopping every time we pass this way. I was just there but it was Sunday and both you and the Log Cabin were closed. RATS! See you soon, I hope.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs", responded to this review, September 12, 2013
CarolinaPacko,
Thank you for making Skeeter's your stop during your travels! The gang at Skeeter's thanks your buddy for mentioning us to you and your wife. We are proud that we will be a part of all of your future travels through Wytheville. Come see us Monday - Friday 7 am - 5 pm and Saturday 7 am - 5 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    24
    8
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow- Right out of HIstory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Skeeter's is not just a place, it is an experience. The menu is limited, but everything is spot on for flavors. My wife and I had "The Works" hot dogs (only $0.10 more than the basic "Slaw Dog"). The tastes melded perfectly. Many locals came in to have "just a snack" before they went home. If you are in Whytheville, VA you must try out Skeeters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs", responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Marvin B,
Thank you for the shout out! We are glad that you enjoyed a Skeeter Dog a true Wytheville tradition! Looking forward to you coming back soon.

Thank you once again for the Trip Advisor shout out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is all about the history and the atmosphere. You have to eat here at least once just to say you've done it. We eat here every time we come to Wytheville. Love "The Works" hot dogs - chili, cheese, onions and slaw. Yum! Not fancy. Just good!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's like going back to the "Happy Days' Times"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Skeeter's is an icon here in Wytheville, Va. They are famous for their chili hotdogs and they've sold at least millions of them since their beginning. The décor of their store is "the 50's-60's era standing still." The counters, stools that still spin, and pictures depict how it was many years ago and gives you that "back in time" feeling. It's a unique lunch experience and great for the memory books. Make sure you take some pics while you're there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs", responded to this review, July 31, 2013
@edie0429
Thank you for the Trip Advisor review! We are proud to keep the store and tradition of having a Skeeter Dog (or two!) as an icon. We look forward to having you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“National got dog day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was very quaint and old timer. Had the old counter that you sit at to eat. The loaded hot dogs were only $1.89. Great service. Friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs", responded to this review, July 25, 2013
@Wingfoot3912
We are glad you had a great experience at Skeeter's in Downtown Wytheville! We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs" also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.