We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry and on a budget? Try the Peking Restaurant, Wytheville, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peking Chinese Restaurant

Peking Chinese Restaurant
105 Malin Dr, Wytheville, VA 24382-3430
276-228-5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Wytheville
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Hungry and on a budget? Try the Peking Restaurant, Wytheville, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The restaurant is right in front of the Holiday Inn Express and due to favorable reviews; it was a factor in choosing that hotel for the night. There is even a shortcut from the hotel via steps, if you do not have any mobility restrictions.

Like many Asian restaurants, it was richly decorated in gold and red. Tables and booths are available, depending on the size of your party. The owner/operators are indeed Chinese. I can’t say if any of the kitchen staff were, but the favors were familiar American-Chinese. The waitresses working our area of the dining room were very pleasant and helpful local girls. Collectively, they made us feel very welcome and filled these hungry travelers with tasty food.

I could not believe how reasonable the prices were – closer to fantastic. A cup of Egg Drop Soup was $1.35, an imported Chinese beer was $3.00, and domestic beers were even less. Most really good AND plentiful main dishes were less than $10.00. Some come with a large Egg Roll and most come with steamed white or fried rice. As hungry as we were, we could not finish it all and traveling, unfortunately we could not take the leftovers with us.

A great experience I’d certainly try again, if traveling through this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience at this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Most awful Chinese restaurant I've ever been. Service and food were terrible. What a waste of money and time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Travelers Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not Chinese food. This is cheap off the highway food that won't have many repeat customers. All the sauces taste the same....salty. Older lady maybe an owner was insulted by my Chinese friend when she said this was not Chinese food. The lady said they just cater to bus tours coming through so she didn't seem to mind that it was not authentic Chinese cuisine and was a bit rude. Thumbs down people if you are looking for "real" Chinese food, you will be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great soup and egg rolls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner after seeing the reviews and since it was right near our hotel in Wytheville. The egg rolls and egg drop soup were both terrific but the rest of the food was just okay. My chicken tasted weird and my Dad's dinner was very salty tasting. Our waitress was attentive and polite. The decor is nicer than most Chinese restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The service and atmosphere were good but the food was pretty dull. There was nothing wrong with it but it was just mediocre.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to Peking Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.