We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictably good, with a few loose edges . . .,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   697 Peppers Ferry Road, Wytheville, VA 24382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Wytheville
Northern CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Predictably good, with a few loose edges . . .,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the way to Atlanta from Northern CT. It's a pretty typical Country Inn and Suites. There were a few ups and downs worth mentioning.
First, the upsides: the pool was specially equipped for handicapped people with a chair that could be lowered into the water. Thoughtful and inclusive. The whirlpool was an excellent temperature. I would estimate about 95 degrees. Hot without being oppressive. Upon checking in, the desk offered us a list of area restaurants, which is always a great idea and makes it easier to decide on a supper choice. There are a surprising number of restaurants in the area, just about every chain and a fair number of locals.
Somewhat downsides: the bed seemed old and tired, too soft and not supportive at all. The pool was chilly, maybe 74 or 75 degrees, but to be fair I was there for perhaps a half hour and I was the only person there. It's expensive to heat a pool for limited use. The breakfast was OK, but only a 7 of 10 on the CI&S breakfast scale.
For the rest, it was a typical Country Inn experience. I've always found them dependable and affordable.

Room Tip: There are four floors and an elevator. If upper floors and/or elevators aren't attractive for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay traveling through our area. We are always so appreciative of positive and constructive comments that we can use to make your next stay much better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
57
31
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A town in VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent a night here after biking the New River Trail. Check-in was fast and without any problems. Room was clean and everything was in place and worked well.

Used the pool and hot tub to rest my tired legs.

Sleep like a baby. Nice soft bed and room was not noisy.

Woke up and ate eggs, sausage, and hash browns, Waffles, bagels and cereals were also available

Checked out and did another day on the trail.

Great experience. I'll stay again.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We have many guests that come and stay after enjoying the many different outdoor activties our area has to offer. I will make certain to pass along your comments to all of our employees. We hope to see you soon to enjoy the fall foliage, our area has many outdoor activities to take in the beatiful scenary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We really like Country Inn and Suites, they are what Hampton used to be--clean, comfortable, reasonable. The Wytheville location has a bonus: behind the building is a community college with a lovely, paved track. We enjoyed seeing the sun come up over the mountains. The breakfast was superior to the other chain hotels we've visited. We only stayed one night, but had no complaints and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are more than pleased to read your positive comments about lovely establishment! It is so nice to hear that you not only had a great stay here but were able to take advantage of the newly pathed walking track at the college. We hope to see you the next time you travel through our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we travel to Knoxville Tennessee to visit family. Always clean and comfortable. Kind of bummed the elderly night lady isn't here anymore. I enjoyed seeing a familiar face upon arrival. Small items are in need of repair, like the sliding closet door holds on the floor not being in place, or broken off. Always quiet rooms. Normally go with the king suite, with our 2 1/2 year old son, it works the best. Shame the cookies are no longer provided all night long. I miss them!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay on your return visit through our area. We hope to see you again when you come through our area on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

overall:I must admit to being disappointed. We've stayed at other CI & S and this one was tired and in need of a general pick me up.

As usual the front desk staff were pleasant and check in went well other than a problem with keys not working.

We stayed in a double room above the pool area which had a very strong musty odor. The large room it self was set out very conventionally but appeared to be missing furniture as there was a huge empty area between the second bed and the window. It had only a rolling chair for the table and a hard back chair against a wall. No real place to relax other than on the bed,

The room was very much in need of a spruce up. The lone table had a number of large scratches along the face about a foot long which made it look pretty threadbare. As well a hasty patch job had been done to the bathtub paneling which had silicone poorly applied to the screw heads amateurishly. The rest of the room was ok as were the beds for the night. We were disappointed in the breakfast as we have had much better at other Country Inn and Suites. Pretty bland and not very appetizing.

I don't think that the hotel was worth the money nor will I be staying there in the future.Come on Country Inn, pick up your socks or you will lose a repeat customer of other Inns go this way as well..

Room Tip: Avoid second floor 202, above the pool, very musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am very sorry to see that your stay was not up to expectations as other Country Inn and Suites that you have previously stayed in. We are currently working to start rennovations within the next coming months. We hope that after we have completed some of our rennovations we hope that you will stay with us on your next trip through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roostown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of 6 had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We did not have reservations but the clerk got us a room immediately. Our room had two double beds and rollaway bed. We had a beautiful view of the mountains. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The rollaway bed was a bit uncomfortable as expected with a cot. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a wonderful way for the kids to burn off energy from being stuck in the car all day traveling. All in all, everyone had a good nights sleep. We will definitely return on our next trip passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you not only enjoyed the pool but the hotel overall. I am very sorry to see that the cot was not very comfortable I will make certain to resolve this problem personally. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First visit to Wytheville and first time in a CI&S -- we would have stayed in Beckley but the Jamboree made us drive further down I77 --- and what a delight! The hotel was terrific - we had a quiet room overlooking the hills and the local community college. CC has a nice walking path that made it easy to get out and stretch legs. Downtown Wytheville is charming and we had a very pleasant walk around. It was Sunday evening so the town was quiet - but it has a very nice feel.
Breakfast was terrific and room was very comfortable,

Room Tip: be aware - no king rooms on top floor away from road noise. only 2 queens - but they are quieter r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel. I will make certain to pass along all your positive comments to not only the staff that was working the night of your stay but everyone in general. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you through our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 697 Peppers Ferry Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wytheville
#5 Family Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Wytheville
Country Inn Wytheville
Wytheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.