We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Rose Inn to your Saves list
Mountain Rose Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We loved Mountain Rose Inn! It was beautiful, immaculately clean and the innkeepers made our stay so very special. It is furnished with gorgeous antiques in every room. We stayed in the Daisy Room and had plenty of space. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the highest quality sheets, so soft! Everyday the room was serviced and chocolates put on our pillows. Even though we stayed in the Daisy Room we also enjoyed both porches, with rockers I might add, the parlor and the beautiful dining room. It was like being at home, only much better. It is very, very quite there, our sleep was never disturbed.

The grounds were made for relaxing and walking. We even saw three deer drinking from the creek on one of walks The food was excellent and the service was second to none. We fell in love with the innkeepers, Mike and Dora Jane. They gave us the privacy we wanted but were always available to meet our every need. They made us feel like family! We could not wait to see what Dora Jane’s fresh baked goodies were every afternoon! Mike and Dora Jane are excellent host and I would highly recommend Mountain Rose Inn. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is one of the best B&B's we've stayed at- our room- the Pride of Virginia was gorgeous- bed extremely comfortable. We had little cheescakes, brownie bites and sherry as an afternoon appetizer- which was great after exploring some of the 100 acres the B&B is on. We had complete privacy when we wanted and service when we needed. The breakfast was delicious, innovative and very filling- 4 courses- cereal and juice, then yogurt with fresh strawberries and blueberries plus almonds and walnuts soaked in honey, followed by a double decker french toast- the bread was thick sliced french bread with cream cheese and sliced fresh peaches between slices, followed by dessert- puff pastry with an almond filling, whipped cream on top with sliced almonds! The grounds are gorgeous- with adirondack chairs and hammocks to sit in down by their mountain stream. Swimming pool, trees, birds, and quiet!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

What a lovely B&B! The house, the beautiful setting with the garden and creek nearby, the delicious gourmet food, the cute town nearby, the friendly and thoughtful innkeepers... All made for such a delightful, memorable stay for our anniversary! We would gladly go back or send friends to the Mountain Rose!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We were lucky enough to stay at the Mountain Rose Inn for 3 nights in April, and what a perfect choice it was. From the moment of your arrival down a charming wooded road and drive, your senses are pampered and you are made to feel completely at home. Our room – the Pride of Virginia – had an incredibly comfortable bed and a porch where we could sit out watching the birds feed – we saw our first ever Indigo Buntings and were thrilled by them. And later we also saw ruby-throated humming birds feeding on the Inn’s main porch, another magic moment from an entirely magical holiday.

We were in the middle of driving up the Blue Ridge Parkway (a totally recommended five star experience) and were nurtured and totally relaxed by our time at the Mountain Rose. Dora-Jane is the most wonderful, warm and fun hostess – though sadly we didn’t get to meet Mike much because of his other commitments. The breakfasts are so sumptuous and delicious and generous that they quite defeated us – so Dora Jane suggested that she left the delicacies we couldn’t manage in the guest fridge for us to enjoy later in the day, just one example of her thoughtfulness and kindness. The little guest kitchen is really useful – and we bought wonderful deli food at the great Floyd Country Store (check out Floyd, a little one-stop-light town with a great range of shops and kind people). There’s a creek running right through the grounds of the Mountain Rose, where you can relax on chairs or in a hammock in the midst of stunning natural beauty.

We were over exploring the South and Virginia for a month from the UK and the Mountain Rose summed up all we relished and loved about the whole experience – gloriously beautiful landscape and countryside, great food, fabulous people, and a warmth and charm which absolutely melted and won our British hearts!

And in terms of food, while staying at the Inn we also loved the down-home Tuggles Gap Diner just off the Blue Ridge Parkway – Angela looked after us perfectly and we had southern fried chicken and coconut pie and were replete with good food and bonhomie when we left!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is located near the Blue Ridge Parkway. The nearest town, Floyd, was a treasure of shops, mountain music, and good eateries. Our hosts' recommendations for restaurants were excellent and they made reservations for us. Had a memorable dinner at the Chateau Morrisette on the Parkway. Old home is very nicely decorated, has a large lawn, and creek. Perfect for small weddings and the inn offers an elopement package too. We truly loved our 3 nights there and hope to return. Cat is a friendly outdoor pet and was very attentive to us also!

Nancy and Bob, GA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My wife and I chose the Mountain Rose Inn from a long list of Bed and Breakfasts in the area, and we could not be happier with our stay.

The house is beautiful. From the moment you walk in the doors, you feel right at home. Mike and Dora Jane went out of their way to make sure our stay was as perfect as possible. Our bed room was clean and up to date... pretty nice, considering the house is over 100 years old. The heavenly king sized bed, and the in room fireplace are only 2 of the many great amenities. The house is decorated with antiques to give it a vintage feel, however it is still very luxurious.

Breakfast was a 4 course meal... a first for my wife and I. The chocolate-raspberry bread was excellent, as well as every other course of the meal.

The only regret we have is that we could only stay one night. However, we have already begun planning our next trip... this time, you better believe will be staying at least 2 nights.

Don't miss out on this amazing Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Lovely, well maintained B & B. When you enter the front door, you know you have found the right place. The rooms are all different and it is nice to have choice. They include fireplaces, if needed, personality, comfort, in-room coffee service and all the amenities that you need to make yourself at home.
We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and they were excellent. The "gathering" room, with the fireplace, was an excellent place to meet other guest. If you did not choose that, there are several verandas to sit in the rocking chairs and do nothing. I enjoyed both.

What I would like to say is, it is so nice to leave home and get away--- feel instantly at home with no worries and only have compliments for the innkeepers.

We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Address: 1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185
Location: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Elegant four-course breakfast, 100 private acres, pool, trails,weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.