We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steak, not much on atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Tavern

Spring House Tavern
325 S Main St, Woodstock, VA 22664-1253
540-459-4755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great steak, not much on atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

the marinated steak was very good - it was JMU parents weekend so the place was packed with purple and gold, but the service was good. atmosphere was odd to say the least and my chair was broken and very uncomfortable - so was my husband's. they did their menu well - wide array of choices prepared well. we would go back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    16
    35
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Still after all these years the Spring House steak is awesome..Service is pretty good.. Drinks could be stronger...LOL Kidding all was great..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sometimes you win - sometimes you lose”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small town taverns/pubs seem to fall into two basic groups. They can be charming places with surprisingly good food and a lovely atmosphere or they can be noisy places with average to poor food where a group or groups of regulars have a good time until (hopefully) they have to call a taxi to get home. Unfortunately, Spring House Tavern falls into the second group and our visit for dinner left us very disappointed. First, we were seated in in the front room which was occupied by a wide variety of dining groups including older couples, families with young children and a couple of tables of young to middle aged folks who had apparently enjoyed a number of adult beverages and were borderline loud and obnoxious. It appeared that the "back room" was a bit more sedate. We were seated promptly but after that service was slow up to and including the process of getting and paying the check. The waitress asked for our patience and thanked us for our patience several times, but never offered any reason for the slow service or any consideration (such as a free dessert or free beverages) for our patience. I had the fried catfish dinner which was acceptable but not notable. My wife had the farm raised trout dinner which had a very "fishy" taste/odor. (She did not mention the bad tasting fish until the next day.) She was not sure if the fish was not fresh or if it was due to being farm raised. Maybe Wednesday night was an "off night" at the tavern, but if we return to this area, we will try Joe's Steakhouse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Food and service, recommended by our hotel, nicely converted into a tavern, was a bath house during Civil War.
Every employee greeted us, and the food was great ! Tried white carrots for the first time ! My husband said the ribs were great ! Go M

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a casual place to eat that would not involve changing out of our traveling clothes. On our hotel's recommendation, we tried the Spring House Tavern on Main Street, not more than 10 minutes off Rt 42, if that far. We both had burgers - I had the Southwest burger - and they were outstanding! Cooked just the way we wanted them, not like the hockey pucks some places serve for fear of dread diseases. The service was very pleasant and also very efficient. We'll go back there for sure the next time we're visiting family in that area. I'd certainly recommend the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Spring House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.