We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Narrow Passage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Save
You added Inn at Narrow Passage to your Saves list
PO Box 608, Woodstock, VA 22664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Virginia
1 review
“A lovely getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

My husband and I needed a place to stay on our way from Louisville, KY to the Northern Virginia area. We booked a night at The Inn at Narrow Passage in the hopes of turning what is usually a tedious drive into a bit of a romantic getaway.
From the moment we checked in, we were impressed by both the historic atmosphere and the friendly service. The innkeeper was incredibly attentive, and the building is impressive -- the foyer/check-in room and dining room look like the original log structure, with an expansive stone fireplace.
After seeing the pre-Civil War-era lobby, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from the room itself. It turns out the room was nice -- ours had a four-poster bed and a fireplace, which the innkeeper lit for us when we checked in. I wouldn't call it posh, but it was certainly was very clean and cozy. It was furnished with country-style wood furnishings and included a mini fridge. The bathroom was on the small side, though.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious- quite possibly the best french toast I've had. The innkeeper was friendly and we enjoyed a long conversation before heading out on the road. We didn't have time to stay and hike in the area, but it looked beautiful and the weather was nice, so we were sad to get back in the car. It was a lovely interlude, though.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good breakfast, beautiful location.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I just got back from celebrating our 20th anniversary at the Inn and it was wonderful. We were wishing we could have spent a few more days there just to enjoy the peacefulness of the place. The surrounding area is beautiful and with the Shenendoah River just a short walk away (great for flyfishing), we couldn't have asked for anything more. The historic Inn is very nice and our room was great. We are hoping to come back later in the year to enjoy the fireplace! We found several nice Italian restaurants in the nearby towns and had a fun time horseback riding in the nearby stables. We have great memories of our anniversary!

  • Liked — The peaceful setting
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway from the fast paced Northern Virginia/DC lifestyle. Getaway found. The Inn at Narrow Passage was a delightful place with a comfortable room and friendly service. The innkeepers could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We found the breakfast delicious and filling. In the main lobby there are chocolate chip cookies, sodas and a variety of snacks available for the tasting. Yummy. There is also a double fireplace that would come in handy in the winter months.

The property is well kept and we enjoyed watching the birds while sitting on the well manicured lawn in Adirondack chairs. The locale makes a nice home-base for hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor adventures. We took the 20 minute trip to Fort Valley Stables for some horseback riding (highly recommended). If you enjoy hiking there are a number of different options in the vicinity.

Our experience overall was wonderful and we would not hesitate to recommend the Inn at Narrow Passage to our friends.

  • Liked — Service/Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge, va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

My husband John and I had a fabulous, romantic stay at the Inn at Narrow Passage. We highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast nestled beside the Shenandoah River. Inkeeper Ed Markel is a kind, gentle soul who made us feel welcome throughout our stay. A breakfast of fresh fruit, delicious baked goods and tasty eggs and bacon greeted us in the morning. Our room was spacious and extremely cozy, with a canopy bed and a real fireplace. For a relaxing stay in a beautiful part of Virginia, it can't be beat. We took home a bunch of brochures and postcards to give to our family and friends. We learned about the Inn from the owner of the wonderful Woodstook Cafe, located just down the road from the Inn. Enjoy!

  • Liked — the peaceful surroundings and romantic room
  • Disliked — No negatives!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at The Inn at Narrow Passage for only one night but would have loved to have been able to stay for longer. Great location, very hospitable hosts, spotlessly clean and comfortable, outstanding breakfast, masses of character.
We could not have been made more welcome and hope to return.
We have recommended the Inn to friends and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone
From the moment of checking in to the (regretted) moment of departure we enjoyed ourselves!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness.
  • Disliked — A little dated.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Aout 10 years ago I took my wife to a B&B in tn Virgina. It was to be a surprise Valentines day trip for her. Instead it was a pleasant surprise for both of us. The Inn welcomed us at check in with a homey living room with a large fireplace, a lot of reading material A dining area was off to the side. Our room was tastefully done in a colonial style and a fireplace. We have made the trip back to the Inn at least twice a year. We call it our hidden get away.

Each year a new addition was added to the rooms. Some have telephones, tvs and a mini refridgerator. Breakfast is the only meal served. It varies from day to day, but always includes juice, fresh fruit and an array of pastries and homemade fruit an nut bread and of course ,coffee or tea. Entrees were,either eggs, pancakes , french toast, bacon or sausage and toast. Cereal was is aways an option.
The Inkeepers, Ed and Ellen are friendly and low key. Ed is always around at breakfast to make sure that everything is ok. The atmosphere in the ding room is friendly, with guest chatting with each other.

We have reccomended the Inn to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

After reading all of the glowing reviews posted her my husband and I were really looking forward to our stay at the Inn. While the weekend was not terrible it was disappointing to say the least.

There were some positives like friendly inn keepers. Ed was very helpful with dining recommendations, history of the area, etc. The outside property was beautiful and tranquil. There were lovely porches with rockers and welcomed shade.

Along with the positives there were quite a few negatives. The breakfast was more of a heavy continental than hearty meal. It was served buffet style with the food in a separte room from the dining area. Both were in the historic area of the inn and very charming. The warm entrees were srambled eggs and bacon and french toast the next morning. Both were very unremarkable. There was an assortment of dry cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit (which was very refreshing), etc. The pastries (croissants, cheese danish) were not homemade although the coffee cake may have been. The meal was OK but definitely not up to what we normally have at a B&B in this price range.

Let's talk about our room. From the photo on the website we were expecting a bit of thoughtful decor. The room was very different! It was very large - bigger than most hotel rooms. But very hotel-ish. There were 2 queen beds that has a simple spreads. There was a wooden cupboard that was filled with plenty of extra blankets and pillows. The brick fireplace would be very nice on a chilly night. There was only one chair in the room. There was a television in the room - something we don't normally expect in a B&B. However it was very small and only received 4 stations so it wouldn't have much of a use.

The dust on the bed headboards could be aproblem for someone with allergies along with the multiple spider webs in the corners. There were plentiful and varied magazines to look through although some were not the most current - Readers Digests from 1997 and 2000!

The bathroom was more the size of a powder room. The shower stall and toilet were clean but there was still a dust problem along the wooden baseboards. We were very surprised to find that there were no individual amenities like shampoo, lotion, etc. There was a plastic pump bottle for hand soap. There was a hair dryer over the sink.

We have come to expect in our numerous B&B stays a minimum of a coffee pot and mugs. There were neither. The only thing to drink from were two very small plastic cups. There wasn't a writing table but there were 3 small bedside tables, each with a different style of lamp.

Perhaps we have high standards but comparing to other inns this would be last on our list. As inexpensive hotels go this wouldn't be so bad but for a $140 dollar a night B&B it fell way below our expectations.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Hotel-ish feeling
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Address: PO Box 608, Woodstock, VA 22664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Narrow Passage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.