We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best casual dining Mexican food in Woodbridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapos Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guapos Restaurant
14418 Gideon Drive, Woodbridge, VA 22192
(703) 490-9622
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 237 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best casual dining Mexican food in Woodbridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good food, large portions, lots of choices, very casual dining. Tex Mex type of food ... You wait in line to order then they bring the food out to you (they use number signs you put at the end of the table).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport news, va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Rotisserie Chicken ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

One of my many visits here since 2008 and never disappointed. Chicken is what I normally order but everything is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In the middle of an area with SO many restaurants, right next to Potomac Mills, is this gem! You go to the counter, and order and go find a seat. The nicest, sweet waitress brought our food in a few minutes. FAST food, much nicer than fast food seating....real silverware....helped myself to condiments....interesting mixture of service and self-service....cashier was being trained, but we were attended to immediately, cheerfully. The menu was all overhead, behind the counter, nicer color pictures, with descriptions. This is important, as I am not always sure what I'm ordering. My daughter got a beef chimichanga, and I got a half of rottisserie chicken. Two sides came with each, and everything was wonderful! Full plates of food, but not huge overload. Really excellent chicken, moist, spicy, not too salty. Salad was chopped, which I like. House dressing was delicious, interesting....ranch was available too. Both meals totalled less than $20. There were several combo plates, that included drinks. I HATE paying a decent price for a meal, then $2-$3 for a drink. Daughter was celebrating, so I got her a piece of tres leches cake....it was absolutely divine....this place is a great combination of fast food, nicer atmosphere, get a lunch, get a dinner....kids would find happy choices, tacos and such....my low-carb need was met (chicken and double salad) and picky daughter could chose from several Mexican bottled soft drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

unassuming, clean, great service and the quality of the food rivals finer mexican restaurants. their home made sauces are awesome for dipping Peruvian spiced chicken as well. we ordered their chicken enchiladas and tacos...great flavor without being completely covered by cheese like other places...flavor stands for itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

In reading all of the other reviews of Guapos, I am tempted to try this restaurant again. However, my first time did not leave me a fan.

We ate at Guapos for lunch on a Saturday. My friend and I both ordered the chicken tacos in flour tortillas. In reading description on the menu, I thought that I would love this dish. Where it fell apart was that they came with a sauce already on the taco. Unfortunately, I did not like this sauce and it was applied such that I couldn't scrape it off. I tried to pick at my food as I was hungry but the sauce was so pervasive. When my friend's order arrived hers looked different even though we ordered the same thing.

The chips and pico de gallo was good but this is the only thing that saved my meal. Of course, I would have preferred more pico.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapos Restaurant also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Guapos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapos Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.