We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for shopping at Potomac Mills Malla as well as business travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14030 Telegraph Road, Woodbridge, VA 22192   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location for shopping at Potomac Mills Malla as well as business travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a great efficient hotel for business travel. The hotel is newer, clean and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is a bit above average for free hotel breakfasts. The business center was excellent--fast computer, functioning printer. Good wireless and wired access in hotel room. Fast check in and check out. Several restaurants share a large parking lot with the hotel for later evening meals after meetings. Mexican restaurant (have forgotten the name) was good with excellent fresh tortillas.

Although this was business related travel we slipped over to the Potomac Mills mall. This hotel is in an excellent location as you can take the side street into the side of the mall and avoid all the main thoroughfare traffic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
8
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel staff was very accommodating to us as we needed to get in earlier than the usual check in time for an engagement. Room, lobby, breakfast area all clean and presentable.

However, our room, 107, had the breakfast room on one side of the room and on the other side of the wall is the pool area. Above us is either the stairs or a elephant act.

Would stay here again but not this room, I guess this room was easily available so we could change clothes because nobody would want it. We were in such a rush to get in and out, never even noticed what was on either side, or above.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Clean, comfortable, descent breakfast, nice pool (too cold, though). I loved the pillows and was pleased to find that I could buy one for a reasonable price from an online company that distributes bedding from different hotels. The bed and sofabed were comfortable enough for my husband and son. I would have preferred a bed that had just a little more give. I've got hips. Whenever we drive to an HIE, I'll take my mattress topper. Good air conditioner with different settings. I was able to make it stay on (for white noise) without freezing over the room. Breakfast was adequate with several choices. They had scrambled (taste powdered, but who cares) eggs and hard boiled eggs. I eat low carb, so this was a plus. We would definitely stay again and recommend. Four circles instead of five, because of the cold indoor pool. That was the only disappointment. The internet was slow but did not prevent use.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I am so disappointed by my experience. We made a reservation at this hotel with the 800 number. On our trip down we stayed at a HIE and it was a eonderful experience. We stayed in a Suite that had two double beds and a pullout sleeper in a living area. There was a TV in both the living area and bedroom area which was perfect because my 5, 8, and 11 year old have different taste then me and my mother. We called the 800 # to book a similar room in a town slightly north on 95. When we called we gave the operator a 90 mile range on I-95 with a suite and he offered us a room that slept 7, twp double beds, with a livingroom/pullout suite for $139.99. We were content until we checked in and the room was small there was sleeper sofa next to the double beds but it was not a living area, there was no TV. For our party of 5 that booked a room that held 7 it was not going to work. The TV's are old and small. We immediately went down to the front desk who I had spoken to a few times prior to checking in to see if a non smoking room became available and was also helpful. Sandra is who we spoke to. she informed us the 800 # should not have told us the room slept 7 there largest capacity room hold 6. She could offer us a King suite, one king bed and a living area, it had to TV but traveling with my mom I did not feel comfortable sleeping in the same bed with one or two of my kids in a King bed with my mom. I asked Sandra if she could see if she could get us in at anyother HIE, we would be willing to drive another 60 miles if need be. She told us that is something we would need to do. It was clearly our problem, HIE was not offering any help. SO I called, as I was on hold with the 800 my mother asked Sandra if she could just put us in two standard tooms close to each other for the same rate and she said that she could do that. We divided our family up and with only one minor meltdown from my daughter that she wanted to sleep with her brothers we settled in for the night. I thought that was the end until I got the bill and was charged $129.99 for each room, our rate wasn't honored. I called down immediately and spoke to the manager, she explained the first room did sleep 7 and we should have used our IMAGINATION and asked for a roll away but she will Sandra and see where the miscommunication was. After a few moments Nuria the manager called back spoke to my mom and said she spoke to us when we called to see if a non smoking room was available and she was clear about the arrangments for beds. My mom explained that it was space, TV issue not the bed sizes we were trying to make the point of what the 800 number made upon reserving. My mother took the price adjustment but we are still paying more and Nurnia seems not at all concerned by our dissatisfaction. The fact they would not call another HIE and help find a room, then after the rate was wrong Nurnia told me I should have used my imagination on who the room Sandra insited only slept 6 could have slept 7. I told her it is more then a $10 difference, it is 2 housekeeping tips and 2 sets of taxes. Nurnia suggested we not tip housekeeping, Why?? They made no mistakes, maybe Nuria or Sandra should take $10 of their salaries instead of housekeepings salary!?!? I could live with the holes in the walls, the loudness echoing, the green color of the indoor pool it is the rude manager I can't believe. i'll upload photos of the dirty rug and walls holes when I get home!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I like the refrigerator, microwave, and extra sink with overhead shelf.
The location from I-95 is excellent. Having a Macaroni Grill and On the Border a short walk away is great.
The housekeeping staff needs improvement. Ten days into a 3 week stay the shower head was turned into the room 4 times, 3 times after the front desk was notified. The floor was flooded the first time.
Food was also taken from the room. I purchased a box of cookies, ate 3, and left them in the room. When I returned to the room, I noticed that 4 additional cookies had been removed from the box.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Prior to this review, you spoke with us in person and we came to resolution regarding these issues. Again we apologize for the inconvenience these issues caused you and we hope that our solution was satisfactory. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Washington DC/Metro area!

-Front Office Staff
Holiday Inn Express
Woodbridge, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. There really is not much to say about this hotel. It was not super nice but it was not bad either. It was a very average hotel with no frills other than the chocolate cookies they set out at 5:00 PM every evening. The only real complaint that I had was the sink was clogged up. I told the front desk and they stated they would send someone to fix it. I am not sure if they sent someone while I was out or not but the sink never drained properly. I know this review is very vague but the main thing is if you are looking for a really nice hotel, this is not it but if you are looking for a clean average hotel to sleep at night and that's it than this hotel maybe for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Because we were using the AutoTrain for a trip to Florida we decided to make a reservation here for the night before. We had a pleasant stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff courteous. The location is excellent. The hotel is within several blocks of Potomac Mills and their were too many restaurants and stores to ever list!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Traveler460,

Thank you for your time and consideration in reviewing our hotel. Your kind words & thoughtfulness will be passed on to the whole staff and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Kimberly, Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Woodbridge, Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 14030 Telegraph Road, Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Potomac Mills!Our hotel is located in Woodbridge Virginia which is in Prince William County. We are approximately 23 miles south of Washington DC and 10 miles north of the Quantico Marine Base. Additionally we are within driving distance to the Potomac Mills Mall, Ft Belvoir, the FBI Academy, Reagan National Airport, Dulles International Airport, Mt Vernon, Manassas Battlefield, the National Zoo, Arlington National Cemetery, the Amtrak station, the Springfield/Franconia Metro Station, George Mason Univiersity, Occoquan, and the AMC Movie Theater. Each guest room is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, two-line speakerphone with voicemail access, free high speed wired/wireless Internet access, work desk with an ergonomic chair, and our patented 'Stay Smart Shower Head'. At the Potomac Mills Holiday Inn Express, we also have an indoor heated pool, business center with printer access and free passes to a local full service health club. Additionally we are proud to offer our famous Smart Start Breakfast Bar full of hot breakfast favorites including our cheese omelets & cinnamon buns. Whether business or leisure brings you to the Woodbridge/Potomac Mills area, Holiday Inn Express has everything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Woodbridge
Holiday Inn Woodbridge
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
Woodbridge Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.