We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient to 1-95 and Potomoc Mills mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14030 Telegraph Road, Woodbridge, VA 22192   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Woodbridge
milford de
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient to 1-95 and Potomoc Mills mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very good area for shopping and Restaurants and a very good stop off pint (easy access to I-95) if you are heading south from the N.E.
Call ahead for res. this hotel is very busy.
Rooms are clean and staff is very efficient. I had a small issues and the manager called me immediately on her day off to resolve l the problem (Impressive, i dont rec.t this service from 5 star hotels)
The only problem i have with this hotel and a chain as a whole is this.
The bedding is POOR and worn . Pillows are horrible. (bring your own pillow and blanket )
Also bring your own soap and shampoo as the Holiday Inn express soap/shampoo smells like a ZOO animal that has bathed in cheap cologne.
The other issue is again a Holiday corp brand problem since all properties
at Choice are franchised standards are inconsistent Especially WITH THE BEDDING.
The other issue is that Holiday inns are just pricing them selves out against other med priced
ltd service chains.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. As a part of Intercontinental Hotel Group Hotels, we strive to rasie our standards daily, and each review helps us with our goal. We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
6
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

On the way back from holiday in NY getting off Long Island can be a trial, so we drove for 6 hours and needed a night stop and some rest. The Holiday Inn express is just close enough to I95 but far enough off so you do not get any noise. The rooms are clean, large, and the breakfast is well done with enough variety for me and the kids. The staff is friendly and the close proximity to Potomac Mills shopping complex was from to go to after we checked out. A good value for the money, free internet. Just what a tired family ordered, no surprises.

Room Tip: Higher up so you do not hear people in the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are so happy that our hotel was convenient for you. Having so many options around our hotel such as Potomac Mills and being so close to I-95 makes things very convenient for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, and we look forward to your future business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Clean, well lit location, near just about everything that one might need in the way of shopping or dining, but just far enough off the highway so noise isn't a problem.
Front desk staff impressive in their friendliness and quick turnaround. Room was large, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The kingsize bed was tired, (Rm 408) not the best I have ever slept on. Free internet was a breeze, great shower, all in all one of the better hotel stays in recent memory. Free breakfast started the day off right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate your business, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to make our guests feel welcome and strive to make sure our guest's are happy with their experience. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

After a busy Saturday in DC, I wanted to rest and relax and spend my first ever night in Virginia. I struck it lucky when I decided to stay here. I had a large corner room with very comfortable beds and overall the room was just a delight to stay in. Good selection of restaurants nearby and it felt very safe to walk between the hotel and the restaurants. Check in / out was very quick and the staff were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We strive to create wonderful experiences, and are very appreciative that you took the time to rate our hotel. We look forward to your business again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here on Nov. 16, 2011 while visiting sights in the DC area. The Holiday Inn is located just north of Dale City near the Potomac Mills Shopping Complex. It's also in close proximity to USMC Base Quantico and the USMC Museum. I'd give it three and a half stars if I could, but will not give it four for one huge reason, noise. It had a comfortable, fairly well appointed room, but the poor construction did little to attenuate noise. The noise issue is a major negative. Fortunately, my neighbors went to bed at a decent hour. However, before they did so, I could easily hear them talking. I could also easily hear noise in the passage way. Had my neighbors been up late, it might have been a rough night's sleep. Customer service was great and the price was reasonable for the location. The best part of the deal was the complimentary breakfast bar, easily the most extensive free breakfast menu I've ever encountered. I'd stay here again, but only if I received assurance the room location was quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room or a room in a location away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel. We apologize for the noise inconvenience. If at any time, you are unhappy with your room, we would be happy to accomodate you. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again and be able to make up for the noise you heard from your neighbors. Your feedback helps us to improve our hotel every day! Thanks again.
-Management-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed there due to a good rate relative to the rest of DC area. It was our third night at a Holiday Inn Express (of four in a row) while we visited grad schools with our daughter. It was the only one of the four that didn't have a two queen bed option. Why? Also, the double bed felt cheap. Otherwise good visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. We are glad that you had a good experience with us, but we are sorry that you were not satisfied with our bed sizes. We do not offer queen beds, however we do offer king size beds and also suites that can accomodate more people in one room. We do not have any queen size beds in the hotel, but our double beds are extended length and size. Again, thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel,a nd good luck in your search for schools for your daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We just returned from 2 nights at this property. The front desk staff is friendly, and very accommodating. They allowed us early check-in so we could dress for a funeral. The room itself was large and well appointed. The beds, were less than comfortable, with the old metal springs which hit you in all the wrong places. That with the Magic Chef refrigerator which constantly clicked made sleep nearly impossible. The second night we got smart enough to unplug the refrigerator. Some warm drinks was a small price for quiet. The breakfast area was bright and large, and very clean, with a friendly attendant, and a nice assortment of food items. Would we stay here again? Probably Not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side, not on the I-95 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridgeholidayinn, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
We apologize that your stay was not as great as you would have hoped, and also that you would not stay again with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, and always hope for the chance to change your opinion. Keep in mind, within the next few months, all of our guest room mattresses will be replaced, so if you do decide to stay with us again, you may take comfort in knowing they have been changed. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 14030 Telegraph Road, Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Potomac Mills!Our hotel is located in Woodbridge Virginia which is in Prince William County. We are approximately 23 miles south of Washington DC and 10 miles north of the Quantico Marine Base. Additionally we are within driving distance to the Potomac Mills Mall, Ft Belvoir, the FBI Academy, Reagan National Airport, Dulles International Airport, Mt Vernon, Manassas Battlefield, the National Zoo, Arlington National Cemetery, the Amtrak station, the Springfield/Franconia Metro Station, George Mason Univiersity, Occoquan, and the AMC Movie Theater. Each guest room is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, two-line speakerphone with voicemail access, free high speed wired/wireless Internet access, work desk with an ergonomic chair, and our patented 'Stay Smart Shower Head'. At the Potomac Mills Holiday Inn Express, we also have an indoor heated pool, business center with printer access and free passes to a local full service health club. Additionally we are proud to offer our famous Smart Start Breakfast Bar full of hot breakfast favorites including our cheese omelets & cinnamon buns. Whether business or leisure brings you to the Woodbridge/Potomac Mills area, Holiday Inn Express has everything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Woodbridge
Holiday Inn Woodbridge
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
Woodbridge Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.