We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charbroil Grill

Charbroil Grill
14239 Potomac Mills Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-6805
703-499-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 221 Restaurants in Woodbridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I've heard of these Brazilian style restaurants, but had not been to one until now. What a great first. There was an interesting array of vegetables at the salad bar, but as other reviewers will tell you, that's merely a distraction. The array of meats brought to your table are wonderfully cooked. If the waiters don't bring something you are interested in, ask. They'll produce it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    3
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is becoming our go-to place for Sunday brunch. They make omelets to order with many different and excellent choices as add-ins and waffles plus pasta with either marinara sauce or cream sauce. The salad bar is always stocked with many different choices to include bacon, sausage, chili, soup, fresh fuit, wonderful roasted potatoes. Plus, the service has always been outstanding. In fact, my husband spoke with the manager yesterday (he never does this) to compliment our waiter. Plus, they come to your table with the meat selections. The price, food and service are well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for the carnivore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

All I can say is WOW, don't get distracted by the salad or seafood at the buffet. Save room for all the freshly cooked meats. Some might consider it expensive but I think at 24 it was well worth the price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“For Carnivores Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I have been to this restaurant several times. It is a traditional Brazilian steakhouse, which means after you've gone up to the buffet to get your salad and sides it's time to bring on the meat! There is a card at your table that you flip over; basically red light/green light - when you're ready for meat you flip it to green, and when you just can't eat any more you flip it to red. The buffet is always pretty good, but if you're at the Charbroil Grill you're there for the meat! They bring around steak, chicken, turkey, sometimes even lamb. It is always very flavorful and juicy. The only time we had a not so good experience here was one night when we went near closing time. They didn't have a whole lot of meat to choose from, and we left kind of disappointed. However, if you go during normal dinner hours you will not regret it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“My Father’s Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We don’t live too far from Potomac Mills, so we eat here occasionally, and whenever my parents are in town to visit, we always eat at the Charbroil Grill at least once because it has become my father’s favorite area restaurant. If you aren’t familiar with South American churrascaria served rodizio style, you’re in for a treat, because Charbroil Grill is a great place to try it. The general idea of these flat-rate meals is that you take your places at a table or booth, and then a series of passsadores (meat servers) stop by with skewers of various flame-grilled meats. If you want some of what they are offering, they cut you a slice or slip off a cube; if not, they’ll move on to the next table. This keeps on for as long as you want. When you’ve had your fill, just turn over the green ‘token’ on your table so the red side is showing and the waiters will pass by your group.

The variety of meats served is substantial and very well prepared. They almost always have several kinds of steak (top sirloin, rib-eye, flank), pork tenderloin, beef tenderloin, bacon-wrapped turkey, sausage, and lamb. If you’re concerned that the meat may be strangely seasoned, don’t worry. Generally, it is only moderately seasoned, although sometimes a skewer may carry steak with Brazilian flavoring. The types of meat come out of the grill on a random basis, and often offer a range of wellness from medium rare to well done on the same skewer; just tell the server what you’d like. If you’d like a specific type of meat cooked to a specific level of doneness, they will oblige too. This is really pretty high quality meat, and certainly at least comparable to steakhouses like Outback or Lone Star, though not to the level of Ruth’s Chris or Morton’s.

For salads and sides, there is a large serve-yourself bar that always has a nice—though not extensive—selection of hot and cold dishes including a few veggies, salad, fruit, soups, pastas, rolls, cheeses, potatoes, rice, beans, and perhaps shrimp, oysters, or ribs. Occasionally, the restaurant will also have lobster or crab available for an additional charge.

If you go at lunch, the selections are, of course, fewer, but then so is the cost, although even dinner is only a little more than $20/adult. If you go for brunch on a Sunday, they also have eggs to order, omelets, pancakes, and waffles.

I suppose if you’re not a meat-lover that you might not appreciate this place, but if you are, you owe it to yourself to stop by next time you’re near Potomac Mills.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charbroil Grill also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Charbroil Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charbroil Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.