We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stark surroundings but outstanding burgers and fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys Incorporated

Five Guys Incorporated
14001 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Woodbridge, VA 22191-2116
703-492-8882
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 234 restaurants in Woodbridge
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stark surroundings but outstanding burgers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

When we entered I was put off by the interior. Stark wooden furniture and decor.

But the burgers are excellent ! In a different league to burger king and macdonald's, but then again so is the price!
Two burgers fries and drinks $26! But they are good!

Service good too..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    9
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Good Burgers, Better Hot Dogs, Lots of Toppings, and Greasy Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

All of the Five Guys places are the same; we just go to this one for lunch since it's relatively close to work. The burgers are better than most other fast food places (think In-N-Out if you've been to California or Shake Shack if you've been to New York, but these aren't as good as either of those chains), and the variety of toppings is great. The burgers are also far more expensive than most other fast food places.

The regular burgers are large (two patties), so a "little" burger will probably be enough for you. I think they're pretty greasy, but a lot of my co-workers like them that way. I usually get a bacon-cheese dog, which are really good, instead.

People either love or hate the fries; without a doubt they are the greasiest fries around. Everything gets packed in a brown paper bag at the counter, and before you can carry it to your table, the bag will be so saturated with french fry grease that it will almost be translucent. If you're getting take-out with fries, be careful about sitting the bag on a cloth car seat.

One nice touch about these places is that all Five Guys offer free peanuts.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“REAL BURGER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is greasy, but the reason for that is due to the meat being freshly made and never frozen. It is made into patties on a daily basis and cooked to order. It is never frozen like the fast food chains. The toppings are free and about 20 different options. The french fries are the best ever and remind me of Mark Mosely's Board Walk Fries. They are fresh cut from potato's brought in from farms. Cooked in fantastic fresh oil changed daily. The calories for this meal is off the chart but for a real hamburger and fresh fries, this is the place to go

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You can't say you know a good burger until you have been to a five guys.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

First off, if you have a peanut allergy, do not go, they serve peanuts in the restaurant and fry exclusively in peanut oil.

I have been to many different burger joints. In my books, Five Guys beats them all. I rank Red Robin second on my list. For starters if you are one of those that complains of high fat or grease, then stay out. Go down to a place with a salad bar because this place was made for those that want a sinfully good burger. The burgers are still juicy even though they are cooked all the way through and have cripsy edges. I always get their bacon cheeseburger with Mayo, Mustard, Ketchup, Hot Sauce, Pickles, and my favorite addition...jalapenos.

These aren't whimpy jalapenos either. They are freshly cut and some you get are just a nice heat level to kick up the flavor of the burger. Their fries are great. Challenge, order a large fries and see if you can finish them off in a single sitting with any of their burgers. I've not found anyone that can yet.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Five guys chain recently arrived in Southern California. I have gone to three different ones, and my experiences has been pretty consistent . Southern California is a burger mecca and a tough market. When I first entered a Five guys I was struck by the color (red & white) strong similarities of "In n Out" (A west coast chain), it looked like they had been cloned. Even though the menu is similar, with burgers and fries , they are very different. This is not a In n out clone. The burger reminds me more of the product from "Fatburger", (LA area chain) but not as good. In summary the fries were limp and the burgers were average. There are far too many better burger places to go to, so I don't expect to return. On the plus side I do like peanuts.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys Incorporated also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County

Been to Five Guys Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.