We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dixie Bones WINS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que

Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que
2430 Prince William Pkwy, Woodbridge, VA 22192
703-492-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 237 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Dixie Bones WINS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just another chain restaurant! Sharon & I were on our way home from a long outing and decided to call ahead for a take out order. (Let me just inject this thought, Famous Dave's is a favorite restaurant of Sharon's, so I tolerate eating here from time to time.) When the call connected this is what I heard "Jen.......pl.....hold....click!" enter atrocious music for the next three minutes, then a click (like someone was coming to my rescue) followed by another three minutes of atrocious music, then another click like previously and music. This repeated for ten minutes. We are now about to pull into the parking lot of Famous Dave's restaurant when the music was interrupted by a phone operator wishing to hurry us to order "because we are busy and there are people waiting." Consequently, we didn't eat at Famous Dave's and ultimately called a manager who made excuses for his abrasive staff's behavior. He offered a $25 discount card for the rude way we were treated.

This sounds like a fine deal eh? Not to this guy! Sharon told him to send it to 'Occupant' at our address and further told him we are eating at Dixie Bones! Finally! Dixie Bones! YES!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    17
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Que in Woodbridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We frequent this restaurant quite often when my remote co-workers come into town. They request that we ALL go to this restaurant as a team at least once during their visit. They truly have some of the best food in Woodbridge.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We got a carry out and the beef brisket was so grissly and greasy that we had to just throw it out. My daughters ribs were horrible to the extreme, again had to throw it all away. My husbands dinner was also greasy and chewy. We have eaten there many times in the past and also had many take outs from Famous Dave's. The food had always been very good in the past. Howwever, this time all of it was terrible and had to be thrown away.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We received wonderful service at this restaurant and since it was our first time visiting a Dave's, a free bottle of BBQ sauce to take home. The food was delicious and hot. Nice selection of beer as well. Will definitely visit again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good, honest food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

used this restaurant to cater rehearsal dinner at our house--reasonable, great servers, delicious food. plenty of food, sauces, and sides. relatives from out of town loved the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.