We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Tandoor

Taste of Tandoor
13836 Smoketown Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-4210
703-897-7200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 240 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Murphy, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW

The tandoori chicken wings are a great start. The chicken tika masala and rogan josh are great too. The garlic naan could use a bit more butter. Friendly staff. Get the Gulab jamun for dessert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

This visit is the second for My wife and me. Each time the food has been great, service is gracious, and the bill isn't too much. It was fun to go to the buffet since there was quite a bit we wanted to try on the menu after our first dinner-time visit. Just to note it ... we've seen parents bring their kiddos in here, so if you're trying to keep away from kids (like we do since we go on dates to get out of the house and take a wee parental break ourselves to be just a couple for an hour or two ;-), ask to sit away from the kids present. Overall this restaurant is a great place to eat with nice ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top quality Indian food and fine service in a tranquil setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

One of the very best restaurants in the county, and certainly the top for Indian food--at a great value, too.
Taste of Tandoor offers a wide variety of seafood, lamb, and chicken prepared with palette of flavors that will suit any taste. Service is superb! The waiters are highly experienced, unobtrusive, and anticipate patron's needs without hovering. Most nights the owner graciously stops at each table for a moment. The atmosphere provides just the right amount of elegance to make any dining experience feel special. The lunch buffet is scrumptious, and a great value, too.
Recommended Dishes: lamb vindaloo, goa shrimp masala, rogan josh, butter chicken, assorted platter appetizer, Tandoori chicken, garlic naan.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Indian and Vegeterian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

It is our favorite place to go for Indian and Vegeterian food. It is our favorite place to go during the Daniel fast every year. The service is great, they also have a wonderful buffet. It has great decor. We have been coming there for at least 4 years, and have always had a good experience. They have both mild and spicy selections. They have several selections for less then 11.00 a plate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner by Chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Up to Quantico for a quick business trip and wow! What a nice surprise! We had always compared our Indian food to a fabulous Indian restaurant in Heidleberg, Germany. This, we agreed was a tie. The Butter chicken was so delicious and Chicken Dhaniya was awesome. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Tandoor also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Taste of Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Tandoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.