We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad "bookstore"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Books-a-Million & Joe Mugs Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Books-a-Million & Joe Mugs Coffee Shop
2700 Potomac Mills Circle, Woodbridge, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 Attractions in Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sad "bookstore"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Last time I visited I wandered around for quite a while (probably 45 minutes) and was not greeted by a single employee, much less asked if I required help. The books were barely alphabetized, and the categories were jumbled. I believe I ordered something from the café once, but I do not remember it so it must not have been anything special. Plus I think they have done away with the coffee shop when they changed it to a "BAM" store.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best source for Books & travel magazines, guides, & maps inside Potomac Mills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Regional Chain Bookstore

Carries in -depth selection of books, travel magazines, guides and maps.

Carries books by local authors

Its always a pleasure purchasing books here for the following reasons: deep discounted coupons emailed to me, well thought-out website, knowledgeable and service oriented staff, convenient store hours and location, decent return policy, well stocked shelves and variety of merchandise and rewarding loyalty program.

Loyal Customers are hoping Books-a-Million Corporate Office chooses to invest in building up the new location to include the much loved Coffee Shop. Simon Properties (owner of Potomac Mills forced BAM to move into Temporary smaller location durnig the Holiday Shopping Season - brutal way to treat tennants.

Location (Temporary):
Inside Potomac Mills Mall, Neighborhood 5, off of I-95!

Hours of Operation:
Follows Potomac Mills openning and closing daily schedule

Park and enter through entrance closest to Costco Club Warehouse
Visited December 2012

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Layout needs to be changed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been to several BAM book stores and this one is by far the most disorganized in "feel." The magazines are located on the very back wall and you have to walk around a bunch of bookshelves to get to it. I saw a disabled customer trying to make their way to the back wall and was getting frustrated with the layout. Management seriously needs to see the layouts of other BAM stores and rearrange this store. At the very least, make an isle that leads straight to the back wall.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BAM is a scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I bought a Nook eReader last week but it turned out to be a defective item. They refuse to deal with the problem. They said the item was in good condition when they shipped the item. The package looked good. Maybe mail man caused the problem. They even let me contact Barnes and Noble company instead of replacing it.

It is in my closet now. I am now trying to contact BN for the issue. Hopefully it can be solved soon.
What a trash company. Never order from them again. I wish they will be out of business soon.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best source for Books and travel magazines, guides, maps and Coffee inside Potomac Mills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Regional Chain Bookstore and Coffee Shop

Carries in -depth selection of books, travel magazines, guides and maps.

Carries books by local authors

knowledgeable and Customer oriented staff

Tip: sign up for emailed coupons at company website!

Coffee Shop:
Talented Baristas
Great coffee -especially the espresso beverages.
Don't have to wait in line to place coffee order which happens to be the case at StarBucks!
Comfortable seating area
One shared electronic outlet for a quick charge to personal electronic appliances.

Located inside Potomac Mills Mall, Neighborhood 4, off of I-95.

Park and enter through entrance closest to Costco Club Warehouse

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Books-a-Million & Joe Mugs Coffee Shop also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Books-a-Million & Joe Mugs Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Books-a-Million & Joe Mugs Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.