We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good for once every two years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe - CLOSED

Hard Times Cafe
14389 Potomac Festival Plaza, Woodbridge, VA 22193
703-492-2950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Chili. Wings. Burgers. Sports.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always good for once every two years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I can say for something different go to Hard Times, but not as a steady--honestly, the food now is just average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Way too smokey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In some ways it has come a long way from the smoke-filled billiards parlor that also served food. I stopped to get a carry-out order and was directed to the bar. I am a cancer survivor and will not enter there again. Second hand smoke kills too and ruins the aroma of otherwise good food. I love their Cincinnati Chili mix but won't buy it from the restaurant again. I'll simply order it online. In fairness, if one dines in they can stay in a non-smoking area that is pretty well separated from the blue haze but not so for carry out orders. Good food. Smoke kills.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the only time we had horrible food on our trip! I would never go back here again! The service was adequate but would not advise anyone to choose this restaurant. Crackers in basket were stale, and some were put back opened.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Bar - Amazing Chili!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hard Times has a very well-patronized bar presence for locals, providing plenty of pool tables, music, and great local beers. Don't overlook the restaurant though - they are known for their amazing chili recipe. Try the "Terlingua Red" - it's a Texas chili with no beans, but great spice. It's served over spaghetti and very delicious!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorate Chili Mac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Cold beer, hot Texas style chili and cornbread. What more do you need! Oh yeah fried pickles. Always fast friendly service and a large selection of very cold beer. Prices are very good and the have a daily special. Worth the trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Times Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.