We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown Great Tibetan/Nepali/Indian Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Magic Indian Fusion Restaurant & Bar

Masala Magic Indian Fusion Restaurant & Bar
14313 Potomac Mills Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-6806
703-491-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 238 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unknown Great Tibetan/Nepali/Indian Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I am usually against anything that has fusion in the name, but these sincere professional young couple owners are trying to introduce Woodbridge slowly to some Tibetan and Nepalese food. If you go, try the momos. They are a Tibetan form of dumpling like potstickers. Excellent!!!! Also, their papri chat (Indian) was the best version I have had, even above the high end Indian restaurants I ordered them from.
The best part is that the owner let me come in during their closed hours to order takeout.

The restaurant is very nice, clean, reasonably price, great service and great food.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“I could accept lukewarm temps on buffet, but not cool temp foods !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

After previous successful trips to Masala Magic to both the lunch buffet as well as ordering dinner off the menu, I recommended buffet lunch to meet with an old friend (who BTW, is an Indian food fan). We quickly noted that the food was, very cool (muchless not warm) in the serving trays. I have experienced lukewarm buffet food on a rare occasion, but cool? The waitress apologized and said that nobody had stirred the food recently. She did so, and it seemed to have very little effect. The previously very nice naan was not the same consistency. I was very embarrassed to have recommended Masala Magic to a good friend from out of town.
The variety on the buffet was above average, and the food seemed relatively "fresh" but so what? The price for buffet is $8.95 The restaurant advertises being open during the week but we found that they are regularly CLOSED on Mondays. One other stinker...the day we were there, the outside temp was about 35 degrees, and I swear the bathroom must have been 36 ! Could not have had ANY heat in there. Big disappointment all around. No apologies from staff or owner. I am usually a very "positive" rater, willing to give the benefit of the doubt. Verdict: I will never return nor recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“dont expect good Indian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Even though this place is supposed to be Indian fusion, it is no way close to true Indian food. The food is very bland. Buffet is just ok for the price. If you are looking for good Indian food this is definitely not the place to be in.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Woodbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

If you are a fan of Indian food, you have to put Masala Magic on your list. The name is fitting because there must be magicians preparing food in the kitchen. It's a simple, but very room dining room in Potomac Festival Shopping Center across Smoketown Road from Potomac Mills (same shopping center as Golden Tech and Hard Times Cafe. The seasoning is perfect, the temperature of the food is perfect, and if you prefer more spice and heat, they are happy to oblige your request. The lunchtime service is buffet; so, try everything!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Standrad Indian Buffet --- Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was a more-or-less standard Indian luncheon buffet place. The food was so-so --- the butter chicken had too much of a Campbell’s tomato soup flavor; the tandor chicken was pretty good. Service fine --- water was refilled, nan was brought to the table, and the people were friendly. Ambiance was fine --- table cloths and silverware, clean surroundings, but terrible (fusion?) music. The value of this experience was fair.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Magic Indian Fusion Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Masala Magic Indian Fusion Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Magic Indian Fusion Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.