We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Zaytoun Kabob and Grill

Al-Zaytoun Kabob and Grill
13871 Smoketown Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-4206
703-730-0410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 221 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pakistani
Restaurant details
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Made the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were on a road trip, with very modest expectations for dinner. Then we found this spot. Simple storefront but the food is incredibly good and unique. The chef, and co-owner, kept appearing from the kitchen with new sauces to try, each more interesting than those before. Spices were delightful, fabulous homemade Naan, tender lamb perfectly cooked, generous portions. So happy we gave it a try. And it clearly makes them happy to please their customers.
Go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Feel good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This small restaurant is located in an unassuming location near the outlets. The menu has items to satisfy a variety of palates and service is excellent. I went in for a buffet thinking I was going to get a large quantity of mediocre food, but I was wrong. The owner made sure we were comfortable and had fresh naan and chicken tandoori prepared for us. The food is has a more authentic, home-cooked style to it rather than restaurant-style. My favorite buffet items were the butter chicken and spinach sabzi. Definitely try the mint-lemonade. I wasn't a fan of the daal, and the rice seemed a bit dry. Otherwise, the buffet is a great value and will leave you more than satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“rethink location, think customer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a vegetarian and a big fan of middle eastern cuisine. I am grateful for any establishment offering these choices. But I think Al-Zaytoun needs to rethink its location and its menu. It is a tiny place with only one or two sit down tables. It also has a tiny kitchen so cannot deal with a lot of volume. So you could be in for a long wait, depending on what you order. This is a friendly family business but the menu seems to be more based on what works for the proprietor, than on what the customer wants. Whatever you want seems to come only in packages with things or quantities you probably don't want. Either move to premises with a bigger kitchen and specialize in take out. Or get a bigger kitchen and more seating and be a proper restaurant. And give customers more and simpler choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Always cheers me up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Every once in a while, I have a day like today. I feel like garbage, I'm grumpy, I am having severe allergy and sinus problems, just an all around crummy day.

I save my trips to Al Zaytoon for days like this, because it works better than a bowl of home made chicken soup any day.

Really, while their Kabobs are good, I feel they're one of the weaker items on the menu (relatively speaking.) Grab some Haleem, Keema Samosas, or any kind of Karahi (call ahead, it takes a while to cook) and you have yourself a INCREDIBLE meal which will turn your day around, and completely clear out your sinuses to boot!

Top it off with a mint lemonade and you're golden. Next time you have a crummy day, try it. You can thank me later.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just Food and Atmosphere Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I simply cannot imagine how this afghan joint gets praise other than the owners are quite nice. By the numbers:
1. Tasteless food whether lamb or beef kabob . Rice is 1/2 with gravy and 1/2 white.
2. Chick peas are cooked to mush.
3. Bread comes after 1/2 way through the meal.
4. If you insist on order food, DO NOT EAT THERE unless you enjoy depressing takeout joints.
5. Even the baklava is lousy and that takes some doing.
6. We spent over $36 for a crummy meal + you serve yourself + cheapest plastic ware possible + no condiments on tables.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Zaytoun Kabob and Grill also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Al-Zaytoun Kabob and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Zaytoun Kabob and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.