We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views of the water are wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leesylvania State Park

Leesylvania State Park
2001 Daniel K Ludwig Drive, Woodbridge, VA 22191
703-670-0372
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Woodbridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful park located on the Potomac River that offers historical sites and recreation facilities.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Views of the water are wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I make a habit of going to Leesylvania State Park annually. This year we went for a Mother's Day jaunt along with taking Tavie for an afternoon walk.

The Park is essentially flat so the walking is easy. A high percentage of the visitors picknik so the aromas of cooking are fun. Kids seem to love to go in the water (cold or not and despite the warning signs). All in all, I can recommend this park as a "Happy Place". Additionally, the view of the Potomac River is excellent.

The charge is $4 per car, not bad at all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Local Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love the variation in activities they have available - they have a few longer walks/hikes, some short ones, a pretty big picnic area for families, lots of fishing areas...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice park on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice park to spend an afternoon, lots to do and has just about everything. A few good trails for hiking or just walk down the easy path next to the river with a few historic markers. Decent pier for fishing, small beach area on the left side of pier (good for dogs to play in), pretty long beach area on the right of the pier (no swimming allowed). Plenty of tables and bbq pits for the cookout with bathrooms conveniently located not too far away. Volleyball court and big playground for the kids. There are a few pavilions for large groups (need reserved way in advance). Plenty of trees for shade, but also plenty of branches on the floor. Park also has a boat launch and camping available. If your looking for a park in the Woodbridge area this is the one to go to.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia
2 reviews
“Nice state park but pricey parking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this park one afternoon for a picnic with our daughter. It was a bit windy which might have hampered our enjoyment a little. The park itself is nice and clean, good walking paths and a beautiful view of the river. There's a good amount of picnic tables and facilities for children. We were dissapointed that it cost $5.00 to park. I had never visited before so didn't want to risk buying a seson pass. The season pass does work out to be much better value. But I thought a $5.00 fee. Considering it was already the afternoon was a bit steep.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just a "nice drive in the park"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nicely kept up Park. Young gentlemen at entrance way was very helpful and gave lots of info before even entering park.

Loads of trails. Picnicking areas to choose from, a "Visitor shopping area", boat parking /l aunch area (Fee) , and a park store I believe it was located at Boat Launch Area. Visitor Center is before you get that far down.

There is NO swimming at this Park! You can wade and sunbathe and it is a nice park but that is a huge drawback for some.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesylvania State Park also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Leesylvania State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesylvania State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.